Time Machine March 1972 (Strange Days)

4-26-12          Time Machine, March 1972

Guitarist Duane Eddy born 1938, producer Giorgio Moroder born 1940; Twangy.

From Strange Days magazine in Japan.  Not sure where they’re getting their release dates from – England?  What I have here today is thought to be new releases from March, 1972:

Jethro Tull “Thick As A Brick” (Chrysalis / Island UK LP CHR 1003); Thin Lizzy “Shades of a Blue Orphanage” (Decca UK LP TXS 108); Deep Purple “Machine Head” (Purple / EMI UK LP TPSA 7504 with poster); Humble Pie “Smokin’” (A&M UK LP AMLS 64342); Edgar Winter’s White Trash “Roadwork” (Epic US 2LP KEG 31249); Delaney & Bonnie “Delaney & Bonnie Together” (Columbia US LP KC 31377); Chase “Ennea” (Epic US LP KE 31097); Spirit “Feedback” (Epic KE 31175); and New Riders of the Purple Sage “Powerglide” (Epic US LP KE 31284).

Looks like somebody got their hands on a U.S. Epic / Columbia ’72 release sheet!

I own Jethro Tull and Deep Purple today.  I have yet to invest in a deluxe version of “Thick As a Brick” – will they do a 5.1 mix of it?  I liked the album at the time of release, and even got a UK issue of it initially.  And I heard “Smoke On The Water” in record stores and on the FM radio, so I knew I wanted yet another Deep Purple Mk. II LP.

Thin Lizzy was simply off of my radar.  Humble Pie didn’t seem like the same band that I knew from the Immediate label.  No interest in Edgar Winter, beyond “Frankenstein”.  I like Delaney & Bonnie better now than I did then, though I do not own this LP at all, in any format.  Chase remains a one-hit-wonder for me, with “Get It On” (Epic US 45).  My Spirit fandom pretty much concludes with “The 12 Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus”.  Never could listen to or abide NRPS – any reason I should?

In 2012, I have a 5.1 SA-CD disc of “Machine Head” (and a 2CD deluxe edition, via Rhino) and a very nice Toshiba Japan paper sleeved “Thick As a Brick” CD, as well as original non-US LP’s of both.

This is the exact point where my initial Jethro Tull fandom concluded.

This entry was posted in 1972, England, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, SA-CD, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

