Time Machine – March 1973

4-25-13          Time Machine, March 1973

Procol Harum

On 4/27/63 The Beatles 45 “From Me To You” charts at No. 1 in England.  On 4/28/73, the LP “Dark Side Of The Moon” by Pink Floyd charts for the first time at No. 1 in the US.  On 4/26/69 The Beatles 45 “Get Back” charts at No. 1 in England.  Also on 4/26/69 the Cream 45 “Badge” charts at No. 18 in England.

From Strange Days magazine in Japan – these are the March 1973 LP releases:

Pink Floyd “Dark Side Of The Moon” (Harvest Records via EMI UK; LP comes with 2 posters and 2 stickers); King Crimson “Larks’ Tongues In Aspic” (Island Records UK); Roxy Music “For Your Pleasure” (Island Records UK); T. Rex “Tanx” (T. Rex Records via EMI UK); Led Zeppelin “Houses of the Holy” (Atlantic Records UK); Procol Harum “Grand Hotel” (Chrysalis Records via Island Records UK; LP comes with a large booklet); Argent “In Deep” (Epic Records via CBS UK); Mahavishnu Orchestra “Birds of Fire” (Columbia Records US); Donovan “Cosmic Wheels” (Epic Records via CBS UK); Humble Pie “Eat It” (A&M Records UK); Todd Rundgren “A Wizard, A True Star” (Bearsville Records via Warner Brothers US); and Tangerine Dream “Atem” (Ohr Records, Germany).

I believe I heard Pink Floyd before “DSOTM”, so I didn’t rush to it.  I was all over the King Crimson LP, even saw them live on this tour.  Bought the Roxy Music pretty much straight away, too.  Wasn’t too interested in T. Rex by 1973, but I did eventually buy a copy.  No go on the Led Zep LP – no interest.  The Procol Harum LP was a real favorite.  Eventually got the Argent LP, but not at the time.  Didn’t get the Mahavishnu Orchestra until I found a Japanese CD of it – never owned an LP of it.  A pretty good Donovan album, US copy had more elaborate packaging than the UK copy.  No go on Humble Pie or Todd Rundgren.  Hadn’t done Tangerine Dream yet, all of that started with “Phaedra” about 1974 or so.  I just checked, and I don’t even have a copy of “Atem”!

In 1973, I was still in Junior High School.  I don’t think my brother had gotten out of the Air Force yet, so there wasn’t anybody to discuss rock music, at that time.  I was desiring to expand my horizons, mostly with European music.

This entry was posted in 1973, England, King Crimson, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Machine – March 1973

  1. Brian Ware says:

    Quite a few big titles for me here as well. I was graduating from high school that year and had a car, so I went over to Daytona Beach and saw the same King Crimson tour that you did. Definitely my favorite show of the four times I’ve seen them. I had the previous two T-Rex LPs, but I guess I was moving on and didn’t get “Tanx”. I didn’t jump on Roxy Music at the time and Tangerine Dream were way off my radar, but I really loved that Argent LP, and had the Mahavishnu Orchestra LP as well. Saw them live (twice), the first time with Todd Rundgren (and George Carlin!) opening. Heard Todd’s “Wizard” LP at a friend’s house and liked it, also heard the Led Zep LP and didn’t like it at all. Totally done with them!

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Brian – I didn’t get “Tanx” until years later either. i never made it this far with Led Zep, too. I can tell that the 1973 releases were already becoming too mainstream for me; I was already on the road to Gong, Henry Cow, Faust etc.

Leave a Reply

