Lovin’ Spoonful / Badfinger

4-23-13          Lovin’ Spoonful / Badfinger

Hums Of The Lovin' Spoonful

On 4/23/66 the Lovin’ Spoonful 45 “Daydream” charts at No. 2 in England.  Peter Ham of Badfinger croaks, 1975.

Today’s calendar provides the subject matter.

I first heard about The Lovin’ Spoonful when I was about 7 or 8 years old, when “Do You Believe In Magic?” walked down the pike – on the AM radio.  At that time, it was still whatever was on the radio – I wasn’t (typically) buying a lot of LP’s in the mid-60’s.  The first Lovin’ Spoonful LP I got was their 3rd album, “Hums” – with “Summer In The City” as the hit single.  Still my favorite Lovin’ Spoonful album, in 2013!

Imagine my surprise / pleasure when I found a Deutsche Grammophon (German) pressing of “Hums”!  Finally a decent pressing of an already good-sounding LP!  Sweet!

Seems insane to consider The Lovin’ Spoonful without John Sebastian; I guess he finally became the solo artist he’d always threatened to be, after “Woodstock”.  None of his Reprise Records albums ever particularly caught my ear, however.  They’re good, but not…eternally so.

Not sure how The Lovin’ Spoonful ended up on CD – whether or not the mastering finally got it right etc.  I don’t think Sundazed Records has re-issued those albums as LP’s…yet!

= = =

Badfinger was like anything else I heard in 1969.  There was a magic to it’s construction; almost the Beatles without being The Beatles (by association, of course).  It didn’t hurt that their debut 45 “Come & Get It” was written by Paul McCartney!  And any Badfinger fan worth their salt had to immediately go see “The Magic Christian” film; their music appears in that film.  The other Badfinger hits were good, “No Matter What”, “Day After Day” etc. – but I guess something was obviously ‘not right’ in the Badfinger camp, once Apple Records went away.

After hearing about it for years, I finally had the opportunity to hear the album by The Iveys, the group that became Badfinger, “Maybe Tomorrow”, it’s called – it came out in the early 90’s, having been recorded in the late 60’s.  All I ever knew about The Iveys was that there’s only one Apple Records 45, “Maybe Tomorrow” b/w “Her Daddy’s A Millionaire” (which I absolutely love!).  My 45 of it sounds better to me than the CD re-issue.  Not quite sure why, as most Apple Records CD’s sound pretty darned good!

So, a lament for Badfinger.  Unfortunate, unlucky – whatever you want to call it.  Some groups are destroyed by drugs, others by fame itself – or a lack thereof.  Their “Best Of” album is definitely worth owning (“Very Best Of”, Capitol / Apple Records CD, 2000).

The Iveys

This entry was posted in 45's, England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

