Record Store Day

4-15-13          Record Store Day

San Diego Record Show

Happy birthday, Dave Edmunds!  (Born 1944).  On 4/15/67 the Jimi Hendrix Experience 45 “Purple Haze” charts at No. 3 in England.  Also on 4/15/67 the Turtles 45 “Happy Together” charts at No. 12 in England.  On 4/15/73 the Jo Jo Gunne 45 “Run Run Run” charts at No. 6 in England.  On 4/14/79 the Magazine “Secondhand Daylight” LP charts at No. 38 in England.

Hope y’all paid your taxes by today!  I know I did!

Since my mom passed away, it’s been almost nothin’ but lawyers, accountants, insurance salespeople etc.  And as you may recall, I injured my left bicep last January.  So, totally trying to stand upright once again.

“Record Store Day” is coming up once again, too.  Sure, there are some records that are being issued that I’d like, but…I’m not going to break my neck to get any of them, as I have done in the past.

I think the only “Record Store Day’ vinyl I’ve played more than once is the Syd Barrett 2LP set from a few yeas back, with a stereo “Apples & Oranges”.

This is not to say that I don’t approve of “Record Store Day”, I do!  I do!  But it’s really hard to maintain a positive attitude when on the actual day (April 20th, this year) means that L.A. record stores become extremely unpleasant places to be.  Which is why I’m not going to be in Los Angeles…

I will be in San Diego that day!  We’d planned our trip down there long before I actually knew which day they were going to call “Record Store Day”.

http://www.recordstoreday.com/Home

So, looks like I have 3 or 4 new stores to check out down there.  But records aren’t really why I go to San Diego – it’s the amazing food & drink!  The super weather!  The easy drive from my home in Long Beach.

And there is supposed to be a record collector swap meet that day, too:

http://www.sandiegorecordshow.com/

So you might see me there!

This entry was posted in Event, Record Collecting, Record stores and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Record Store Day

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I think RSD is borderline toxic. As a frequenter of record stores I find it somewhat unpleasant and exploitative of me. Worse still is the notion of highly limited releases exclusive to one region only. It’s hard enough to grab 1/300 of anything, but to have the discs relegated to a distant region of the world is even worse! But I’m sure dealers love RSD! It’s all about them!

    More thoughts from last year’s RSD:
    http://postpunkmonk.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/has-record-store-day-jumped-the-shark/

Leave a Reply

