Not the Ides of March

3-11-13          Not The Ides of March

March 7th: Happy birthday, Matthew Fisher (of Procol Harum), born 1946.  On 3/9/63, the LP “My Son, The Celebrity” by Allan Sherman charted at No. 1 in the US.  On 3/7/64 The Rolling Stones 45 “Not Fade Away” charts at No. 3 in England.  On 3/9/68 the LP “John Wesley Harding” by Bob Dylan was No. 1 in England.  Also on 3/9/68 the Otis Redding 45 “Dock Of The Bay” charts at No. 3 in England.  On 3/8/69 The Bee Gees 45 “First Of May” charts at No. 6 in England.  On 3/8/75 The Average White Band 45 “Pick Up The Pieces” charts at No. 8 in England.  Happy birthday, Arthur Lee (of Love), born 1945.

March 9th:  Happy birthday, John Cale! (Born 1942)  Happy birthday, Robin Trower (of Procol Harum), born 1945.  On 3-11-72 Neil Young “Harvest” LP was No. 1 in England (& the US); 3-11-89 XTC “Oranges and Lemons” 2LP set charts at No. 28 in England; on 3-10-79 The Stranglers’ live album “X-Certs” charts at No. 7 in England.  Happy birthday George Kooymans! (of Golden Earring) (Born 1948).  Happy birthday, Mike Hugg (of Manfred Mann), born 1940.

So sorry I haven’t been back to writing much as yet.  Left arm is still rather sore.  Damn television!

My turntable hasn’t been set up lately.  I do miss it.

I have continued trying to put all of my V.A. minidiscs onto the computer in the other room, in an attempt to listen to ‘everything’ in my collection.

Also continuing with flirting with the idea of throwing in the proverbial towel, as regards record collecting.  Never going to find it all.  I do enjoy the chase, but…

I tend to go kinda nuts during the week – surely a good sign that it’s time for me to retire?  I sold my mom’s car recently – that went well!

If I stopped blogging…would the world forget my whining voice?

This entry was posted in Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not the Ides of March

  1. Dana says:

    I, for one, wouldn’t miss your voice… but maybe that’s because we see each other weekly! I am sure that OTHERS would miss your voice and music tid-bits! Dana

  2. Warren Bowman says:

    Your bloggng voice is not whiny. It does not ask loudly for savory sauce.

  3. Brian Ware says:

    Your voice is part of my morning routine, and while we communicate regularly, I’d miss your blog. I learn so much from you and the Post Punk Monk. I totally understand the need to moderate the collecting hobby, economic reality has taken care of that for me, but it’s still vitally important, as is the steady communication between all of us in this mad little network.

  4. postpunkmonk says:

    Right now I have begun culling the collection to get funding for new purchases. That’s going well. I’m hitting vinyl first and weeding out redundant vinyl that I have on CD but is not in “core collection.” I had the first two Bauhaus records I got at a garage sale and forgot I had. People will always want that vinyl. I’m fine with my 1st gen CDs of their titles. How that’s parsed is not an exact science. I am keeping my Japan rarities, but had no trouble flipping Sylvian and Fripp’s “The Next Day” 2xLP for a nice price. I think what is leaving will be primarily non-core collection groups, which is sad, since I only have about 255 different groups in the Record Cell. For several thousand releases. That reveals my collector’s sickness. So I foresee the collection becoming less diverse as I amortize parts of it. Perhaps by as much as 20%. So be it. That’s the only way I will be able to buy new releases.

    With our ages, it’s likely that the fringe groups we gravitate to will be lost to the mists of time, so DLX RMs will stop happening soon for many artists I collect. Even being downloads might be out of reach for some. The next 40 years belong to Justin Beiber. Look upon his works ye mighty and despair. My golden years look to be the stuff of New Wave dystopian science fiction as the world goes to hell in a handbasket even faster than I thought possible! By the time I’m 60 I don’t think records will be my focus any longer. More like my next meal or a roof over my head will be my primary concern.

  5. When one has tastes as incredibly diverse as Ronkanefiles — collecting is quite a job in and of itself! I’ve been separated from the bulk of my collections (which are but specks in the mote of RK’s and PPM’s eyes) for five years now, and miss it dearly … my concerns are less about economics (I love finding bargains nearly as much as finding rarities) but more about logistics (primarily space).

  6. Trip says:

    Don’t stop. I enjoy your stuff.

Leave a Reply

