Kevin Ayers

It is with sadness that I report the death of Soft Machine member Kevin Ayers.  He now joins Hugh Hopper and Elton Dean as Soft Machine will eventually be re-assembled to play Canterbury prog rock for eternity.

I suggest you check out his 2007 album, “Unfairground” – it was really very good.

1970: I first bought “Joy Of A Toy” in San Francisco for $1.-; it was at a store that no longer exists where I found all of the US Harvest label promos for that price.  Needless to say, it changed my life forever.

Another catalog album of his that sticks in my memory is “Falling Up” on Virgin Records – late 80’s.  A superlative album.

 

This entry was posted in England, obit, Progressive Rock, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kevin Ayers

  1. Dana says:

    Thak you, RON, for honoring KEVIN AYERS in you blog today! Kevin was such an influence in MY musical life too! R.I.P. KEVIN AYERS !

Leave a Reply

