January 2013 etc.

1-23-13          January 2013

Ventura Harbor

Ventura Harbor

On 1/23/71 Badfinger 45 “No Matter What” charts at No. 5 in England.  On 1/23/82 XTC 45 “Senses Working Overtime” charts at No. 10 in England.       Happy birthday, Robin Zander (of Cheap Trick), born 1953.

Regular readers of my blog will know that my mother passed away last month.  Dealing with this has been difficult, as I have had to do everything by myself.  After more than a month, I finally got her Death Certificates at the end of last week.  It was nightmarish dealing with the Long Beach Public Heath Department.  They didn’t want to acknowledge that I’d already paid for them etc.

But I got it all straightened out, and I got the DC’s.  Last week, I was able to make all of the appointments necessary to take care of all of mom’s business:  To go and get her 2012 taxes done; to make an appointment with the lawyer to settle her “living trust”; to go see the insurance company people (once I have the revised “trust”).  It’s not fun stuff, but it’s all 100% necessary.

And last weekend, we went to Ventura, CA and had a lovely visit with Steve “Mott” Hernandez, an old friend of mine.  The hotel that we had was new-to-us; it had a gorgeous view of the Ventura harbor!

As stated yesterday, I went to several nice record sores up there – believe it or not, there are record stores I didn’t visit!

And looking ahead, I am planning a visit to Seattle, WA to visit my good friend Ken Heaton (his birthday is tomorrow, folks!).  I last visited Seattle over 10 years ago – I don’t remember any really super record stores, but – like everywhere else – I bet it’s changed in Seattle; there will be new stores that weren’t there on my last visit there.

Whenever I start thinking about where to visit, I must always consider if a place is in elevation or not.  For whatever reason, I do not react well to heights (say, above 2,500 ft.) – I fall asleep (and can’t be woken up easily).  I discussed this with my Dr., and he Rx’d some pills that I can take (Diamox, 250mg tablets), if I have to go into elevation.

At the end of the fiscal (school) year, I will have some time off to do a bit of traveling, too.  Portland, OR?  Haven’t been there in a few years, too.  And I have crew in PDX!

All of this is in addition to the curious places in California that I can never seem to get to, in search of phonograph records:  Fresno, Sacramento etc.  So many records, so little time, eh?

Where would you go, if you could go wherever you want – in search of records / CD’s?  Really, I’d like to go to Tokyo!  But – at 90 yen to the US dollar – that’s a tough call.  They have what I want, but it ‘spensive!

This entry was posted in Event, Listening, Record stores and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 2013 etc.

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Then I guess that a trek to Asheville [elev. 2,134 ft] is kind of iffy. We’d like to visit the West Coast and spend some time with you and Dorothy, but the money is scarce now. We’ll see how it unfolds. I’m sure the old neighborhood has changed immeasurably in 40 years.

Leave a Reply

