Dieter Meier Book

1-21-13          Dieter Meier Book

Meier book_NEW

January 19th:  Happy birthday, Janis Joplin, born 1943.  On 1/21/67 the Cream 45 “I Feel Free” charts at No. 11 in England.  Also on 1/21/67 the debut 45 by The Jimi Hendrix Experience “Hey Joe” charts at No. 6 in England.  On 1/20/73 Gilbert O’Sullivan “Back To Front” LP was No. 1 in England.  On 1/19/74 Slade “Sladest” (‘best of’) LP was No. 1 in England; 1/19/80 The Pretenders debut LP was No. 1 in England.  Happy birthday, Richie Havens, born 1941.

Dorothy & I recently had dinner at an Italian restaurant in East Hollywood on a Sunday evening.  As we strolled the street after our meal, we chanced across a bookstore with a particularly nice set of art books for sale.

I’m eyeballing all the monographs, and – at first – I thought I was not seeing something correctly.  Was this expensive coffee table art book actually by Dieter Meier of Yello?  Well, it is / was.

For the discerning Yello fan, I present to you, the Dieter Meier coffee table art book: “Works 1968 – 2012 and the Yello Years” which happily includes a DVD (in both NTSC and PAL).  And as what I found is an “English Version”, there’s plenty of text to read, too.

Mr. Meier is a conceptual artist – in addition to being the singer of Yello.  For example, there is a photo series in this book of him selling the words “Yes” and “No” on the streets of New York City in 1971.  He later explains that the reason Yello appeared on Ralph Records in the U.S. initially was that Boris Blank pursued them with a tape of his music!

Can’t wait to watch the DVD!  Likely some of his experimental films, as well as some nifty Yello videos (most of which he directed).

This entry was posted in 12" Records, 45's, Books, Listening, Music Video, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dieter Meier Book

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    **** me! You found the Dieter Meier monograph??!! This has been on my Amazon wish list for almost half a year! The English edition was only released in late October. I found out about this from Meier’s website, where he has been very busy writing books, lately. I’ve asked my wife to score a copy for me to read via interlibrary loan, but no libraries are listing the book yet. There’s no way I can afford a copy at this time, but that doesn’t mean that with enough scratch I wouldn’t make room in my Record Cell for said tome! This book has a free pass for entry. Let me know how it is.

Leave a Reply

