The Faces

1-15-13          The Faces

Faces_NEW

On 1/15/77 Abba’s “Arrival” LP was No. 1 in England.  On 1/15/72 America’s 45 of “A Horse With No Name” charts at No. 3 in England.  Also on 1/15/72, the Faces 45 “Stay With Me” charted at No. 6 in England.  Happy birthday, Chuck Berry, born 1926.  Happy birthday, Captain Beefheart, born 1941.

I recently got the enormous Faces book, “Had Me A Real Good Time”.  It’s nearly 500 pages!  You could more easily listen to every recorded note of Rod Stewart & The Faces than read this book!  (And it would take less time, I bet!)

I am still working on the over 500 page Pete Townshend book (“Who I Am”), so I have yet to read The Faces book– but rest assured I will.  I have always been curious as to how Tetsu hooked up with The Faces.

This entry was posted in 1971, 1972, 1973, England, Listening, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Faces

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I thought the Pete Townshend book painted a pretty unflattering portrait of the artiste. Worse, I don’t think that was his intention. Every time I would see Pete speak about anything on this video or that video, he always seemed to be a real creep with bad attitudes. A seven letter word for rectum comes to mind. This book only confirmed this a dozen times. If I had a nose full of nickles for every “…I was smashed out of my mind on cognac, but it was a fantastic show…” I’d be a wealthy man. Oh I’ll bet it was a fantastic show… for you Mr. Townshend! I like some of the art, but not the artist. Lately, I feel real sorry for Roger Daltrey. He was in a band with a bunch of freaks, who had the temerity to kick him out of the band he started for trying to put his foot down over their drug abuse! After recently watching that Who docu [“Amazing Journey”] and reading this book, that empathy is doubled.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    I liked the “Amazing Journey” video, and Townshend’s book was a decent read, I thought. I am almost done with it. It’s a large book. Can’t wait to start The Faces’ book!

Leave a Reply

