Listening to Everything!

1-10-13          Listening to Everything!

MD_NEW

1/13:  Happy Birthday, Toshio Nakanishi! (Born 1956)    On 1/12/74 the Golden Earring 45 “Radar Love” charts for the first time in England.  Rod Stewart, born 1945.  Jerry Wexler, born 1917.  Howlin’ Wolf dies in Chicago IL, 1976.

As many of my friends already know, I have been an advocate of minidisks.  In fact, I am doing my bets to listen to all of my minidisks; everything that I’ve made ont5o MD since ’99 or so.  That’s trying to listen to hundreds of disks (such as the one pictured today).  Hundreds!

Anybody who owns an MD knows that the editing capability is amazing.  It has been a real pleasure to hear lots of vinyl that I’ve played over the years.  The disk pictured here today is from 2006 – I wonder what’s on it?

Sometimes my MD’s reflect where I’ve traveled, sometimes it’s what I bought at Record Surplus that day / weekend – or a particular swap meet.  Yes, I have also made thematic disks, such as “60’s Spiral” or “45 Rally” etc.

I dub these disks onto a computer in the other room that doesn’t go on to the internet – that’s right, it’s a ‘music only’ computer – I just dub MD’s to this computer, and play them as CD-R in my car.

I am happy to report that I have heard stuff that I can’t tell you what it is!  Some stuff that I buy only gets one listen, while others get played again and again.  I totally love the random-ness of it all.

My friend Big Mark used to have some sort of system by where he had to play his vinyl (or MD’s) every so often, or he sold them off – with the exception of his ‘special collections’ (i.e. anything at all on Charisma UK records).

I am not beyond thinning out my collection from time to time, but…when I sold off a ton of vinyl once CD’s came in – let’s just say I’ve never forgiven myself.

So, listen to your record collection.  Chances are, if you’ve read this far, you do have a record collection.  There’s still time to try and play it all!  If you can’t play it all, then maybe today’s the right time to play some of your favorites.  I want everyone to listen and believe (to paraphrase Frank Zappa).

Despite having attended many live shows by John Cale, I do still have some hearing left in both ears.  Yes, it ain’t what it used to be, but…I can still hear the difference between ‘regular stuff’ and SA-CD’s (the first audiophile format that has really grabbed me).

This entry was posted in Listening, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Listening to Everything!

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Am looking to thin out my collection. There’s no way I can afford to buy new music otherwise. Last year was only 80 titles – 20% of them gifted – largely from YOU! But I work 6 days a week and there is no time for doing this yet.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Jim-san,
    Understood. Please send me a list of the titles you want to get rid of, before hauling them all off to a used record store…or e(vil)bay.
    RK

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    Was planning to sell them on Discogs.com, actually.

Leave a Reply

