Jethro Tull – Thick As A Brick in 5.1

1-8-13             Jethro Tull – TAAB in 5.1

TAAB 5.1_NEW

On 1-8-77 Queen “A Day At The Races” LP was No. 1 in England.  Happy birthday David Bowie! (Born 1947).  Elvis Presley, born 1935.  Shirley Bassey, born 1937.  Lee Jackson (of The Nice and Jackson Heights), born 1943.  Robbie Krieger (of The Doors), born 1946.

I recently got the 5.1 CD + DVD deluxe set of Jethro Tull’s Thick As A Brick.  I was going to write out my thoughts, but I realized that a good friend of mine has done it far more eloquently than I ever could.  Please read Gary Steel’s review of it here:

http://www.witchdoctor.co.nz/index.php/2012/12/jethro-tull-–-this-as-a-brick-40th-anniversary-set-emi-cd-review/

And Gary also told me:  “I’m not quite won over by Steven Wilson’s new 2-channel mix: definitely more detail in some respects than the original CD, but I think he’s tried to make it sound more ‘natural’, which minimizes some of the ‘shock’ stereo panning on the original.”

To all of the above, I would add – there’s a “flat” 1972 stereo mix on the DVD-A, if the new sounds don’t set right.  I think it’s nice when bands do that.  “Here’s our new version, but we’ve also included the old version” – such as all the recent King Crimson 40th Anniversary CD + DVD sets.

For those who do not already know, Gary is one of oldest and dearest friends in New Zealand.  I met him on my first trip there in 1980.  We’ve been in touch ever since!  Lately, we are also discussing the new re-masters of Universal’s Frank Zappa CD catalogue.  Both Gary & I have been discussing Frank Zappa with one another for over 30 years!

The only other thing I can add about “Thick As A Brick” is that it’s where I got off of the Jethro Tull bus.  I bought a UK Chrysalis copy of the LP before it’s US release, and liked it just fine – in 1972.  I’ve contiguously kept a copy of it ever since it’s initial release.

Maybe it was what was in the air in 1972?  I changed a lot of the bands I listened to; I gave up on stuff I had been listening to, and opened new doors.

This entry was posted in 1972, DVD-Audio, England, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jethro Tull – Thick As A Brick in 5.1

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I experienced a sea change in my listening in 1993. I cut off many groups I’d heavily collected for a decade or more. I’ve not gone back to any of them since. Why? I didn’t like what I was hearing on the singles by that time. Techno/DJ/Rave stuff. But I didn’t like the new groups of 1993 either. I stopped being contemporary that year. I then turned my glance backward for the first time, trying to fetter out the things I’d missed from earlier days. I’ve looked backward ever since. I am somewhat appalled by this. Pleasure had been long jettisoned from growth when it comes to music for me, sadly. There are a few contemporary inklings that give me hope. John Foxx + The Maths are questing forward in ways that still excite like 30+ year old music did.

  2. Brian Ware says:

    I had a similar experience in the early 90s as well. The ascendence of grunge, hip-hop, and the techno/rave stuff was so tedious, but it was a humbling moment when I realized that I was no longer the intended audience for what was then considered contemporary popular music. Having teenagers in the house does expose me to quite a bit of new stuff. Some of what my son likes is quite “listenable”, but never again will I feel the buzz that the best of the 60s, 70s and early 80s created. Wouldn’t it be great to experience that just one more time?

Leave a Reply

