Time Machine 1972

12-24-12        Time Machine 1972

Foxtrot

On 12/24/66 The Who 45 “Happy Jack” charts at No. 3 in England.  On 12/23/72 Little Jimmy Osmond “Long Haired Lover From Liverpool” 45 was No. 1 in England; on 12/22/73 Elton John “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” 2LP set was No. 1 in England.

Good Monday to everyone!  Today I have the Time Machine for October 1972, from Strange Days magazine in Japan.  This list is originated by Mr. Quoichiro Iwamoto.

October 1972 releases:

Genesis “Foxtrot” (Charisma UK LP CAS 1058); Atomic Rooster “Made In England” (Dawn UK LP DNLS 3038; LP came with a cloth cover!); Ten Years After “Rock & Roll Music To The World” (Chrysalis UK LP CHR 1009);  Stealer’s Wheel “Self-titled debut” (A&M UK LP AMLS 68121);  Pete Townshend “Who Came First” (Track Record UK LP 2408 201, with a nice insert);  Steely Dan “Can’t Buy A Thrill” (ABC US LP ABCX-758);  Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band “Clear Spot” (Reprise US LP MS 2115); Raspberries “Self-titled debut” (Capitol US LP SK-11036);  Santana “Caravanserai” (Columbia US LP KC 31610).

I didn’t hear the Genesis LP until the next summer; previously, my notes indicated I hear it in summer 1972, but if Strange Days says it came out in October 1972, they’re probably correct.  KPFK-FM 90.7 played 2 or 3 cuts from “Foxtrot”, mostly after midnight.  I duly recorded what I heard onto cassette.

I didn’t go after Atomic Rooster this time.  To be honest, I was not a big fan of Chris Farlowe; I didn’t care much for his contribution to Colosseum, though I am a lot better with it in 2012 than I was in 1972.  I had really liked Atomic Rooster’s 2nd album, “Death Walks Behind You”, but once I saw that Chris Farlowe was the vocalist…I knew I didn’t need to wonder about them any longer.  You simple can’t listen to everything.

Ten Years After seemed to be getting a bit stale by this time, though in 2012, I like this album a lot.  The sound of the recording, the instruments, Alvin Lee’s voice etc. – big thumbs up in 2012.  At the time, in 1972 – it was beginning to be time to move on, to not depend upon British rock music so heavily.  Off I went.

Gerry Rafferty!  Stealer’s Wheel was not really in my scope, until their big hit single, “Stuck In The Middle With You” – and by that time, I was not overly interested in big hit singles.  I’d probably like this album in 2012, if I could find a UK copy of it.

Pete Townshend’s debut solo album certainly interested me in 1972, though John Entwistle had beaten him to the bearer of the title “First solo album by a member of The Who”.  Really like the colour insert in this LP, too.

Never had any time for Steely Dan.  I remember a cousin of mine liked them, but by the time “Do It Again” was on the radio a lot, I had no time at all for US artists.  They simply weren’t interesting, as, say a any German artist was of interest.

I had been a great supporter of Captain Beefheart, with “Trout Mask Replica” – and still am, in 2012.  By the time of “Clear Spot”, I had moved on – I eventually met guys who stuck with Beefheart (Rick & Ace), but…as long as I couldn’t find a clear vinyl copy of this LP, I wasn’t going to bite.

I remember seeing The Raspberries LP in stores.  I might be wrong, but I think the sticker on the cover may have been “scratch & sniff”?  That was as far as I went, probably picking up the LP in a hippie record store to see if the sticker smelled like raspberries.  They were a US band, and not interesting to me.  Never ‘came back’ to them, as I was never with ‘em at the time.

Santana had been very interesting to me, at first.  Loved their debut album!  2nd album was still of reasonably large interest; even liked the 3rd album’s singles.  But as I was shedding most all US artists from my palate by 1972, so with Santana.  I was likely interested to hear this LP; my brother had it.  But with so much else walking down the pike…”Caravanserai” never made a lasting impression on me.  But I do own the original LP of it, and likely a CD of it as well, in 2012.  Sure would like to find the Columbia Records US SA-CD with 5.1 audio of it!

Happy Christmas, 2012!

This entry was posted in 1972, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, Strange Days, Time Machine, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Machine 1972

  1. Dana says:

    Indeed, The Rasberries sticker DID have a “scratch ‘n’ sniff” sticker on it. I distinctly remember having 25 on the “new release” wall at my record store (Moby Disc) but couldn’t get too close to them ’cause they made me sneeze! I recently ran into someone who claims he found a new/sealed copy of said vinyl with the smelly sticker still intact. I doubted that the sticker still “smelled” although he claimed it DID. C’mon… that was a 40 year old album already! Sheesh!

  2. davidz29 says:

    My copy of the Raspberries album didn’t have a sticker. Instead the back cover itself was imbued with the scent and, yes, mine still has some of that smell remaining. I just checked!

Leave a Reply

