10cc – Art For Art’s Sake 45

12-20-12        10cc – “Art For Art’s Sake” 45

10cc Art 45_NEW

On 12/23/72 the David Bowie 45 “Jean Genie” charts at No. 2 in England.  On 12/23/73 the Leo Sayer 45 “The Show Must Go On” charts at No. 2 in England.  On 12/20/75 the Sailor 45 “Glass Of Champagne” charts at No. 2 in England.  Also on 12/20/75, the 10cc 45 “Art For Art’s Sake” charts at No. 5 in England.  And on 12/21, Happy Birthday to Frank Zappa!

I didn’t get the Bowie 45 upon it’s initial release.  I heard the Leo Sayer 45 on the AM radio.  I didn’t know about Sailor until many years later.  A friend had tipped me off about 10cc, and I think this was the first 45 by them that I ever got / heard closely.

It was difficult to get enthusiastic about 10cc, what with “I’m Not In Love” having been such a huge (annoying) hit.  Thankfully, this 45 didn’t sound anything like that one!

Recently, I have organized my 10cc 45’s and now have a clearer idea of what I am missing etc.  This is a collection I think I can tackle.

This entry was posted in 1975, 45's, England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

