Roxy Music / Ian Dury & The Blockheads

12-10-12        Roxy Music / Ian Dury

On 12-8-73, Roxy Music “Stranded” LP was No. 1 in England; On 12-9-78, Ian Dury & The Blockheads “Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick” 45 is No. 1 in England.

Two records I am OK with in 2012!

Somewhere between the 2nd Roxy Music album (“For Your Pleasure”) and “Stranded” (the 3rd Roxy Music album) – I lost my way on the path of European music.  Faust and Amon Duul II were much more important to me than Roxy Music ever was, in 1973.  I will go out on a limb and say that I like “Stranded” better in 2012 than I did in 1973.  Still not fond of the overly sexist LP cover; not sure what Eddie Jobson brings to this band; delighted to see John Gustafson from Quatermass working!  A good way to listen to Roxy Music is a) first try all the songs that aren’t exclusively written by Bryan Ferry, b) Almost anything Chris Thomas produced in the 70’s was good, c) anything Roxy Music gave to Island Records was usually good.

Ian Dury & The Blockheads – never ‘ad the chance to see them play live.  Their only L.A. show was as the opening act for Lou Reed (who had refused to tour much, at that point) – so no tickets available for Ian Dury’s only L.A. show.  Friends saw them in New Zealand and said they were really good, but loud.

I really liked their first two albums!  I believe today’s 45 comes between the two albums that I like.  Unless I am talking through my hat, this was Dury’s biggest hit single, and not on any LP at that time (later found on “Juke Box Dury”, his Stiff label G.H. LP).  I started with “What A Waste” and pretty much stayed with Dury for the next decade or two; there is value in nearly everything he was involved in.

There was an excellent British TV documentary about Dury that I saw; I was so very sad at the time of his death; the type of bloke it’s impossible to “replace”.  I didn’t care for his son’s records, though I tried.  Bless the Blockheads for continuing!

At their respective times of release (’73 & ’78), neither artist ever provided fans with lyrics to their works.  Of course, the Japanese guessed at their lyrics; I still remember seeing the blank lyrics sheet for the 2nd Ian Dury LP – couldn’t read it, but they may have excused themselves for not understanding a word of it – and justifiably so!

This entry was posted in 1973, 1978, England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roxy Music / Ian Dury & The Blockheads

  1. Bob Gaulke says:

    Try Baxter Dury’s “Happy Soup” from this year. He’s middle-aged now and has found his voice.

Leave a Reply

