Bob Dylan’s 100 Best Songs

11-28-12        Bob Dylan’s100 Best Songs

Randy Newman born 1943; on 11-28-70 Bob Dylan’s “New Morning” LP was No. 1 in England.

Bob Dylan!

To coincide with his newest album “Tempest”, Japanese magazine Record Collectors Magazine recently ran an article called (approximately) “Bob Dylan’s 100 Best Songs”.

  1. Like A Rolling Stone (from “Highway 61 Revisited”)
  2. Just Like A Woman (from “Blonde on Blonde”)
  3. Subterranean Homesick Blues (from “Bringing It All Back Home”)
  4. Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright (from “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan”)
  5. I Want You (from “Blonde on Blonde”)
  6. Tangled Up In Blue (from “Blood On The Tracks”)
  7. Stuck Inside of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again (from “Blonde on Blonde”)
  8. Blowin’ In The Wind (from “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan”)
  9. All Along The Watchtower (from “John Wesley Harding”)
  10.   I Shall Be Released (from “Greatest Hits, Vol. 2”)

So, three tracks from “Blonde on Blonde”?  Some famous ones here; it seems to me that “All Along The Watchtower” is here because of the Jimi Hendrix version?  It’s definitely not the strongest track on “John Wesley Harding”!  Interesting, too – only one 70’s track!

Some of my favorite Dylan songs have a lower ranking than the Top 10:  “Desolation Row” (#16), “Maggie’s Farm” (#23), “Rainy Day Women #12 & #35” (#30), “Ballad of a Thin Man” (#31), “Positively 4th Street” (#32), “Tears of Rage” (co-written with Richard Manuel of The Band) (#37), “Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)” (#47), “This Wheel’s On Fire” (co-written with Rick Danko of The Band) (#53), “Can You Please Crawl Out You Window?” (#54), “Masters Of War” (#82), and “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” (#98).  And, of course, they missed a few good ones altogether.

I’ve been listening to Bob Dylan for over 45 years, folks.  I come and go, with this artist.  Sometimes, I go for a few years and don’t listen to much, other years – I binge on his output.  Bob’s been part of the circus for decades now.  And he still walks the Earth!

I have never troubled my organizational skills to try and put together my list of his best songs, ‘cause I feel that it’s up to any individual listener to determine this.  It’s neat that a Japanese magazine did a list, because that gives us an insight into how he’s perceived globally.

I saw him live once; I went to his museum exhibition at the Skirball Center in L.A.; I bought all of his SA-CD’s (even the albums I am less sure of); “The Basement Tapes” is one of my favorite all-time albums.

This entry was posted in Bob Dylan, List, Listening, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bob Dylan’s 100 Best Songs

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Wow. So it’s possible to pick Bob Dylan’s 100 best songs. Currently, I’m reading the Pete Townshend autobio and it claims; he’s written 100 songs for The Who. Quite a difference in output.

  2. Ron Kane says:

    Bob only had to discuss it with himself; Pete would’ve had to communicate the songs to 3 other specific guys; listen to the P.T. “Scoop” CD’s – sounds like he’s written way more than 100 songs for The Who!

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    Not forgetting that “The Who” had the temerity to reform over 20 years after their 1982 break up [which I fervently supported] for that ‘difficult’ 11th album, “Endless Wire.” Was that any good? More to the point, how could it be? I’ve never heard anything from it but I’m not too interested in hearing a Pete Townshend album with Roger Daltrey singing. That sounds like the worst of both worlds, actually. I preferred PT being free to create Pete Townshend records, which I found more interesting than Who records.

Leave a Reply

