Halloween – Neon Park

10-31-12        Neon Park

Poncho Sanchez born 1951; Illinois Jacquet born 1922; on 10-31-70 “Motown Chartbusters Vol. 4” LP was No. 1 in England; 10-31-81 Human League “Dare” was No. 1 in England.

Recently, I found an A&M Records sampler LP from 1977 with Neon Park (1940 – 1993) artwork on the cover.  I think you’ll agree it’s a suitable “Halloween” theme, for today.

Now that Park is gone, there’s a nice coffee table book about his work that’s fairly easy to find, at least I think it is.  Like many, I first became aware of him with the gorgeous cover art on the front of Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention “Weasel’s Ripped My Flesh” LP, in 1970.  Others first encountered Park’s artwork on Little Feat record covers (when the band featured Roy Estrada from Zappa’s band).

Never has a cover been so divisive, on a phonograph record!  People either loved or hated the “Weasel’s Ripped My Flesh” cover!

The Halloween artwork for A&M Records isn’t in his coffee table book, unfortunately.

This entry was posted in 1977, Media, Music Business, Uncategorized, Zappa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Halloween – Neon Park

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    You know how I feel about Zappa. I worship the cover [and title] to “Weasels Ripped My Flesh!!!!” The “Rzzzzz!” manages to take a loaded concept even further over the top and is sheer genius!!!! If I didn’t have that cover reproduced in my album cover art books, I just might have to buy a copy of the album in question! I still may, one day!

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    It’s a fine LP, in addition to having a swank cover. Couldn’t believe it when I found the Neon Park “Halloween” cover on an A&M Records sampler, recently.

Leave a Reply

