Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

10-22-12        Time Machine 1972 – Strange Days

Franz Liszt born 1811, Lux Interior born 1946; on 10-17-70 Simon & Garfunkel “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” LP was No. 1 in England; on 10-19-74 Rod Stewart “Smiler” LP was No. 1 in England; 10-20-79 The Stranglers “Nuclear Device” 45 charts at No. 36 in England.

Strange Days magazine in Japan continues to do their “Time Machine” feature, with the October, 2012 issue containing August 1972 releases.  Quoichiro Iwamoto often seems like he’s looking over my shoulder, but this month’s titles aren’t exactly my cup of tea!

The Band “Rock Of Ages” (Capitol US 2LP SABB-11045; double live LP!); The Kinks “Everybody’s In Show Business” (RCA UK LP DPS 2035); Cactus “’Ot ‘N’ Sweaty” Atco US LP SD 7011); Michael Nesmith “And The Hits Just Keep On Comin” (Pacific Arts US LP PAC 7116); Elf – self-titled (Epic US LP KE 31789); The Doors – “Full Circle” (Elektra US LP EKS 75038; non-Jim Doors!); Bob Seger – Smokin’ O.P.’s (Palladium US LP P-1006); Seals and Crofts “Summer Breeze” (Warner Brothers US LP BS 2629); and finally Michael Jackson “Ben” (Motown US LP M-755L).

Looks like it’s a bit of a turn towards US artists, eh?  Usually these Japanese lists are peppered with original release info about British records / European records!  The only title I own here today is The Band “Rock of Ages”!  And I definitely didn’t buy it in 1972, I bought it within the last 5 years (two versions:  a MFSL SA-CD and the Capitol Records 2CD re-master with a bunch of material added).

While I am reading The Kinks book by Neville Marten and Jeff Hudson – I never took them seriously after the “Lola” LP on Reprise / Pye.  Cactus were interesting mostly because they were on Atco Records, but – I never bought any of their LP’s.  The Monkees were inoffensive, but I didn’t see the use of Michael Nesmith solo records.  Elf?  I remember seeing it, but it didn’t look like the type of record that would interest me, to be honest.  I had as much use for a non-Jim Doors as the record buying public; in fact, I think I got the other one, and not this one.  I’m from L.A., so had little of no use – then or now – for Bob Seger’s brand a rock music.  I have the “Best of” by Seals and Crofts, so I have the song “Summer Breeze” on LP, but “Year Of Sunday” was the last Seals and Crofts LP I got when new.  I firmly believe the Jackson 5 were pitched at someone younger than myself, so the idea of their lead singer having a solo album was pretty much lost on me.

I sure hope Strange Days magazine goes back to Time Machine editions with British and European releases!

This entry was posted in 1972, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

  1. Brian Ware says:

    I was a casual fan of The Band through the 70s, but “Rock Of Ages” is the only release I own on CD. Highly recommended as the brass section really punches up their live sound. All the necessary tracks are there.
    I’ve always had a soft spot for Michael Nesmith. By far my favorite Monkee as a kid, I enjoyed his first six solo albums on RCA. A very agreeable and often playful hybrid of tuneful pop with a country swing. A nice balance of original material and cover tunes often with very unconventional arrangements. I’m a sucker for pedal steel guitar, and Red Rhode’s brilliant playing is all over these records. I’ll admit he’s an acquired taste, and his 80s work (yeah, the Lucy and Ramona stuff) left me cold, but I’ll always consider myself a fan.

    • ronkanefiles says:

      Which version of the live Band album do you have? I have both the MFSL SA-CD (alas, not 5.1!) and the Capitol US 2CD w/ bonus tracks, with something to recommend both issues.

  2. Brian Ware says:

    I have Disc One of the U.S. CD. Probably someone bought the double set who just wanted the second disc of bonus material, and traded in disc one. Eighteen tracks, all solid stuff.

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    I know what you mean. Bob Seeger is just that midwest beefy-cheese “rawk” that I am immune to as well. I don’t need to hear any raspy caucasians either.

Leave a Reply

