Blondie

10-16-12        Blondie

Nico born 1938; on 10-14-72 Lieutenant Pigeon “Mouldy Old Dough” was No. 1 in England; on 10-12-74 Bay City Rollers “Rollin’” LP was No. 1 in England; on 10-13-79 Blondie “Eat To The Beat” LP is No. 1 in England; 10-15-83 XTC “Love On A Farmboy’s Wages” 45 charts at No. 50 in England.

Keeping up with last week’s post on Sparks, I’ll write briefly about another topic I don’t think I’ve ever done anything with:  Blondie.

I have a tiny Blondie collection:

12″               ATOMIC                                                                              CHRYSALIS UK     CHS 12 2410

1980 3 TRKS with pic sleeve

12″               CALL ME (Spanish)                                                         CHRYSALIS UK     CHS 12 2514

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

12″               CALL ME                                                                            POLYDOR US        PRO 124

1980 2 TRKS no pic sleeve, promo-only

CD                COMPLETE PICTURE, THE                                          CHRYSALIS UK     CCD 1817

1991 20 TRK Collection

CD                GREATEST HITS: SOUND & VISION (CD + DVD)     CAPITOL US          45863.2

2006 20 TRK Collection + 16 TRK DVD

12″               HEART OF GLASS                                                           CHRYSALIS US     CDS 2275

1978 2 TRKS no pic sleeve; pic labels

12″               RAPTURE (Special Disco Mix)                                      CHRYSALIS FR     CHS 12 2485

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″                 TIDE IS HIGH, THE / SUZY AND JEFFREY (PS)        CHRYSALIS JPN   WWS-17081

1980 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

I inherited the 7” & 12” releases, and I believe the CD’s were $3 each – yes, even the CD + DVD release, which seems to make the most sense.

You guessed it; never particularly a fan of this band; not attracted to her – or her voice.  Doesn’t matter a whit to me that they were – at one time – NYC’s finest.  I remember seeing them hanging around the Whisky A-Go-Go, watching The Screamers.  It ‘figured’ (to me, anyway) that they would sell out with a disco hit A.S.A.P.!  Money is money, and it doesn’t matter how you get it.

Not impressed that they got Robert Fripp to play on their 2nd album; he must’ve been in New York City anyway.  Yep, I am OK with some of their “hits”.  The CD + DVD set will likely take care of all my dining and dancing Blondie needs.

Who do I like better?  Talking Heads or Blondie?  Uh, not a great topic for me.  At the very least, Talking Heads have 5.1 mixes of their albums, if I so choose to partake thereof.

Didn’t Blondie have one of the first rock music home videos that was sold?

This entry was posted in 1979, 1980, 1981, Listening, Music Business, Record Collecting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blondie

  1. Brian Ware says:

    I know there are several in our music network who hold Blondie in very high regard, but I’m not one of them. I have a decent greatest hits collection and some interesting REVO rarities, but that’s it for me. Never was very impressed with her voice and their videos were always dull. I’ll take Talking Heads any day.

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    Ron with the dreaded Blondie? Who knew? If I’d heard the 1st private Stock LP when it originally hit… wow! My mind, she would have been blown. Blondie were far ahead of the pack in terms of bringing a post-modern approach to pop music in the US. Chris Stein is a genius, and Clem Burke is one of the hot drummers. I don’t love it all, but the debut, and “Eat To The Beat” reach a kind of perfection for me. I just spent the other weekend listening to “Union City Blue” on repeat for an hour. 33 years later, it still kicks my ***. And Fripp played on their third album, by the way. Heads VS Blondie? A tie in my book. Both have 2-3 classic albums… and then all of the rest. Both expanded horizons for US pop music. And I wouldn’t cross the street to see either band at this point.

  3. chas_m says:

    Having just seen them live recently, I’ll take the role of defender. As PPM noted, they were ahead of their time, and for me really crystalized the 50s-New Wave connection. Love their early albums, and for me “Eat to the Beat” is their “Oh No It’s Devo” — they would never do anything that consistently excellent again, though they would have scattered moments of greatness still to come from that point. “Eat to the Beat” was also flogged as the first “video album” — ie every song on the album has a video, though all of them are really cheaply made.

    I’m also in sync with PPM on “Union City Blue.” Probably the best thing they ever did, though I’ll still dance to “Denis Denis” as well. For a band that only had two or three real “disco” hits, they ended up writing what I think of as one of the best disco songs ever, “Atomic” on the ETTB album. Would have loved to have heard someone like Donna Summer cover that. Or hell, the Communards. 🙂

    Most of their post-ETTB is simply pleasant, I even like “Rapture” as a ground-breaking example of white rap done well. “The Tide is High” was of course a cover, but “Maria” from their first “new” album back in 1999 (wow!) was another original pinnacle that proved they could still do it.

    Any chance I get to see Clem Burke, the hardest-working drummer in the biz, I’ll take it!

    Incidentally I also have that last single you mention, Ron … but for the B-SIDE! It’s great!

    When I saw them recently, they were supplemented by a few younger assistants (including a particularly annoying lead guitarist who appeared to think he was actually in Journey!), but Clem + Chris + Debbie = eh, good enough.

    As for the TH vs. Blondie question, that’s a no-brainer. Blondie are mostly fun; TH was *important.*

Leave a Reply

