Car Songs

9-12-12          Car Songs

Barry ‘Walrus of Love’ White born 1944, C&W singer George Jones born 1931; on 9-12-70 Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Cosmo’s Factory” LP was No. 1 in England; 9-12-81 Simple Minds “Sons and Fascination / Sister Feelings Call” 2LP set charts at No. 11 in England.

A friend recently got a new (used) car – and I still go through the process of trying to think of what “car songs” I have in my collection.  I haven’t done one of these discs in over a decade!

Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen – Hot Rod Lincoln
War – Low Rider
Wilson Pickett – Mustang Sally
Steve Miller Band – Mercury Blues
Arkie Shibley – Hot Rod Race
Jerry Reed – Lord Mr. Ford
Corduroy – Mini
Rolling Stones – You Can’t Catch Me
Janis Joplin – Mercedes Benz
Queen – I’m In Love With My Car
B.T.O. – Roll On Down The Highway
Golden Earring – Radar Love
Robert Mitchum – The Ballad of Thunder Road
Deep Purple – Highway Star
The Who – Goin’ Mobile
Gary Numan – Cars
Frazier Chorus – Driving
Godley & Creme – My Body The Car
Department S – Monte Carlo or Bust
Ides of March – Vehicle
T. Rex – Jeepster
L-Trimm – Cars With The Boom
Martha & The Vandellas – Motoring
The Beatles – Drive My Car
Bill Haley & The Comets – Rocket 88
Rip Chords – Hey Little Cobra
The Playmates – Beep Beep
Jan & Dean – Little Old Lady from Pasadena
Rose Royce – Car Wash
Gene Vincent – Race with The Devil

There’s gotta be more than that!  I’ve got most of these on CD, but a few are vinyl only.  Some ‘car songs’ are left off intentionally – “Dead Man’s Curve” etc.

Got a favorite that I’ve forgotten?  Let me know!

This entry was posted in 45's, List, Listening, Playlist, Record Collecting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Car Songs

  1. Dana says:

    An interesting list, to be sure!
    Also like the fact that you still remember the Franklyn Ajaye “Walrus Of Love” reference for Barry White, forty years after the fact! Classic!

  2. Brian Ware says:

    Okay, I’ll play. “Next Exit” from Split Enz, Guadalcanal Diary’s “Let The Big Wheel Roll” (although I guess that’s really more about trucks) and it’s always fun to start my morning with a little auto-erotica – “The Chauffeur” by Duran Duran.

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    Thanks, Brian – “Next Exit” is a classic, to be sure. I have whole LP’s of ‘trucker’ songs, too! Stuff that was sold at truck stops etc.

Leave a Reply

