Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

8-27-12          Strange Days – Time Machine 1972

Alice Coltrane born 1937, singer Cesaria Evora born 1941; 8/26/78 Siouxsie & The Banshees “Hong Kong Garden” 45 charts at No. 7 in England; 8/27/88 Yello “The Race” 45 charts at No. 7 in England.

September 2012 issue of Strange Days (No. 154) concentrates on releases from July 1972, so a bit of this material may already be ‘covered’.

July 1972 albums:  Frank Zappa “Waka / Jawaka” (Reprise US MS 2094); Emerson Lake & Palmer “Trilogy (Island UK LP ILPS 9186); T. Rex “The Slider” (T. Rex / EMI BLN 5001); Peter Frampton “Wind Of Change” (A&M UK LP AMLS 68099); Rod Stewart “Never A Dull Moment” (Mercury UK LP 6499 153); Chicago “Chicago V” (Columbia US LP KC 31102); Argent “All Together Now” (Epic UK LP EPC 64962); Jefferson Airplane “Long John Silver” (RCA / Grunt US LP FTR-1007); and Harry Nilsson “Son of Schmilsson” (RCA US LP LSP-4717).

Not my favorite Zappa album, but it followed a bit too closely on the heels of the Flo & Eddie era; I did not really gravitate towards EL&P at this time either – it felt like I had no more use for them, as they were becoming ‘too popular’; I definitely heard the T. Rex LP at the time, but didn’t buy it until later – I remember critical of ‘how simple’ it sounded.

I was not now or then ever following Peter Frampton; I liked Rod Stewart fairly well, preferred The Faces – didn’t buy this album when new – I recently found a US promotion-only 45rpm EP for this album!  And I didn’t buy it at the time, but I do own the first 5 x Chicago albums, on LP (only the first two on CD, I might add).  In 2012, I let a CD of “Their Greatest Hits” suffice for my digital Argent collection, but I do own a few of their LP’s – their strength laying in their big hit “Hold Your Head Up”; never really heard Argent LP’s, back them.

Perhaps I was of the feeling that in 1972, Jefferson Airplane were past their sell-by date – so I did not listen to or buy this LP in 1972 – and I believe it has unusual packaging?  “Son of Schmilsson” is one of Harry Nilsson’s better albums; I own it both on LP and CD.

My favorite tale of the summer of 1972 involves riding my bike to a record store and buying both a Dick Heckstall-Smith LP and David Bowie “Ziggy Stardust” (for the first time).  That’s what I was doing in July, 1972.

So, today, I currently own 6 of the 9 titles; I don’t think I have any copy of the J.A. title, definitely don’t have that Argent LP and no-go on any Frampton titles (apart from possibly the “Millennium Collection” CD).

This entry was posted in 1972, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

  1. Hi, I do think your site could possibly be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine
    but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

