Misc. Calendar

8-13-12          Misc. Calendar

Singer Don Ho born 1930; The Undertones’ Feargal Sharkey born 1958; on 8-12-72 Alice Cooper’s “School’s Out” was No. 1 in England.  On 8-12-72 “20 Fantastic Hits” Various Artist LP was No. 1 in England; on 8-13-77 Yes “Going For The One” LP (with tri-fold cover) was No. 1 in England; on 8-12-78 The Stranglers “Walk On By” 45 charts at No. 21 in England.

From today’s calendar…

I own a few LP’s by Don Ho; I got my mom some cassettes (or CD’s?) of a few Don Ho album.  I saw his restaurant in Honolulu, but didn’t eat there.

I never particularly liked the Undertones, despite John Peel’s insistence.  I believe my entire collection is tracks on samplers…and eventually I added the fist CD issue of “Cher O’Bowlies”, their original ‘best of’.  I do not own any vinyl by the Undertones.

Alice Cooper is an artist I went back-and-forth with.  I wanted to like A.C., due to the Zappa connection, but that didn’t pan out.  I remember seeing them on TV in the early 70’s, and really digging it – hence my favorite being “Love It To Death” in 2012.  A short while ago, I got new Japanese re-mastered SHM-CD version of their first 4 x Warner Brothers albums, as little paper album cover CD’s.  Packaging is perfectly replicated, and the mastering sounds pretty good!

I certainly didn’t do this Yes album at the time, I was much more interested in European music by then.  When I got the guilties about selling off too many LP’s, I did go for this one, as an LP (my CD is the first re-mastering, not a bonus tracks vers.) – and the tri-fold LP packaging is impressive, even if the music is less than impressive.  This over-indulgence in packaging MUST be one of the things that punk rock / new wave were ‘against’!

And finally, the dear old Stranglers!  Love ‘em!  It was always amusing that they gave away a 45 with the original long version of this song, then decided to issue an edited version of it and it charted.  The free 45 came in “Black & White”, their 3rd album.  I really got on board by ’79, with “The Raven”.

I duly saw them live at the Whisky A-Go-Go; perhaps the sole time I ever saw the band on a stage, as they did not frequent the west coast of the U.S.!  I totally stayed with them until Hugh Cornwell left, in 1990.  And I’ve been lucky enough to see Hugh Cornwell play live a few times, here in Los Angeles.  I really rather enjoyed “Hooverdam”, his last studio solo album.

Added bonus to the “Walk On By” hit single:  George Melly! (“Old Codger”)

This entry was posted in Calendar, England, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Misc. Calendar

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Ironical, because now Hugh Cornwell does not frequent the East Coast of the U.S. All of his tours seem to be West Coast gigs for the last several years. Well, The Stranglers sure weren’t in Florida! That much I can assure you!

    I was massively indifferent to The Undertones at the period of their flowering in real time. I didn’t want to know as I was into far more fascinating groups. Now? I love ’em! I got on board maybe 10 years after they were no longer a going concern.

  2. Warren says:

    Ah, but we sure loved that video for OOALH, didn’t we?

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    Ronkanefiles – “This over-indulgence in packaging MUST be one of the things that punk rock / new wave were ‘against’!”

    Not necessarily. Barney Bubbles straddled the worlds of prog/new wave in ways that heightened their similarities. [art school, art school, art school!] His cover for “Armed Forces” gleefully wipes the floor with “Going For The One!” It probably cost even more. But then, Barney had it all over Hipgnosis! They wished they were Barney Bubbles on a bad day!
    There were plenty of New Wave records took packaging to new heights with gimmix covers in the New Wave era. Maybe double and triple albums were a better example of things that punk and new wave were ‘against’ [except for The Clash]. Well, that and Rod Stewart!*

    * except for Duran Duran

  4. postpunkmonk says:

    Warren – Vas ist das “OOALH?”

  5. Warren says:

    “Owner Of A Lonely Heart” Ron and I watched the shit out of that when it was new.

  6. Warren says:

    And I remember when the Feargal Sharkey solo album was released. What a head-scratcher that was…

    • postpunkmonk says:

      Feargal Sharkey’s solo album was a total miss. At least the rest of the band formed the somewhat decent That Petrol Emotion. But I’ll give Sharkey this; he’s resisted all calls to reform the Undertones! Smart man!

Leave a Reply

