Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

7-26-12          Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

Film maker Stanley Kubrick born 1928, Mick Jagger born 1943; I like both; 7-26-80 Magazine “Sweetheart Contract” 45 charts at No. 54 in England.

From issue #153 (August 2012) of Strange Days magazine in Japan: June 1972 albums!  I so totally remember exactly this month, these releases etc.

Pink Floyd “Obscured By Clouds” (Harvest UK LP SHSP 4020); King Crimson “Earthbound” (Island UK LP HELP 6); Jethro Tull “Living In The Past” (Chrysalis / Island UK 2LP CJT 1/2); David Bowie “Ziggy Stardust” (RCA UK LP SF 8287); Roxy Music “Roxy Music” (debut) (Island UK LP ILPS 9200); Alice Cooper “School’s Out” (Warner Brothers US LP BS 2623); John Lennon & Yoko Ono “Sometime In New York City” (Apple US 2LP SVBB-3392); Free “Free At Last” (Island UK LP ILPS 9192); and Aphrodite’s Child “666” (Vertigo UK 2LP 6673 001).

I own every LP on this list; I bought most of them as new releases.

I heard “Obscured By Clouds” being played in a hippie record store, and liked what I heard.  I will confess to disappointment, when I finally got to see the film that it’s a soundtrack for.  But it’s a great Pink Floyd album, in the new “Hey, it’s the 70’s” style.

I would’ve bought whatever King Crimson released by 1972, and “Earthbound” was no exception.  Even as a youth, I was a bit put off by the poor quality sound (an LP mastered from a board cassette?), but I listened and believed.  Not an essential K.C. release, not even their best live album.

The best thing about “Living In The Past” was that it finally made available the British J.T. 45’s that I couldn’t find at the time, apart from the glorious track “17”.  Not a ‘best of’ per se, but…a collection of pretty good songs.

I bought “Ziggy Stardust” and “Roxy Music” on the same day; R.M. had the K.C. connection.  But Bowie was being written about.

I waited on the Alice Cooper album; by ’72, it didn’t look like I had to have everything they did anymore.

I would’ve waited longer, but Frank Zappa was on the John Lennon / Yoko Ono 2LP set.

Only the Free and Aphrodite’s Child came later for me.  I was 100% aware of both releases, but I was not following Free anymore, after “All Right Now”.  I actually heard Aphrodite’s Child on the FM radio, so actual evidence indicated that I could spend the $6 on something more to my developing taste.

This entry was posted in 1972, King Crimson, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, Strange Days, Time Machine, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

  1. dieta says:

    When I first listened to ‘Letters’, back in 1971, I found myself shaking afterwards! When I listen to this song today, it has the same effect on me as back then! Nothing has changed, because this incredible album was eons ahead of its time, to begin with. It’s no wonder that many Crimson fans do not place this gem where it belongs: It’s too personal, too esoteric, perhaps fully accessible only to the “initiates” (let us not forget that Robert Fripp is a very spiritual person and a serious student/teacher of meditation. In fact, in his guitar school, meditation is an integral part of the student’s training). This album certainly contains the best elements of King Crimson’s music. The heavy (Sailor’s Tale), the lyrical (Formentera Lady, Islands), the classical (Prelude..), the jazzy (Letters, Sailor’s Tale), and the pop/humorous (Ladies of the Road). But most important, behind the real beauty of the music, comes a message of despair and agony: The cry of the contemporary man who tries to escape the crashing loneliness of this age. The need of us humans to escape our plightful, lonely “island” state of existence and merge into a collective consciousness (..Islands join hands ‘neath heaven sea). Together with ‘Red’, this is not only my favourite Crimson album, but one of my five favourite albums ever!

Leave a Reply

