Ancestry

7-3-12                         Ancestry

Here’s an odd one:  My mother showed me a book that was made for her about her mother’s family.  Her dad didn’t rate more than a passing mention, but there were TONS documents placing people in my ancestry in Texas, Virginia etc.  The last few pages:  Arrival, boat, England (in Rhode Island, Approx. 1778)

I know that my dad’s family was from Hamburg, Germany.  Arrival, boat, Germany – Nebraska, Colorado etc.

I always liked the Martin Mull set of films “The History of White People in America”; they ask the scrawny little white kid about his “heritage” and he says something like “Uh, we used to live on Elm Street, then we moved to Maple Street.  That’s it, I guess.”  I’ve felt like that myself.

Another friend has Italian ancestry, via the city of San Francisco.  She can find all sorts of newspaper articles about her “ancestors”, around the time of the 1906 ‘quake.

I guess my oldest sister’s husband does these books for folks.  Lots of stuff from the Church of the Latter Day Saints etc.  www.ancestry.com etc.

I will certainly be an odd footnote for somebody some day.  4th of 4 kids for Harold & Virginia, Long Beach, CA.  At present, 1958 – ?  Divorced.  Never re-married.

But it is an entertaining rabbit hole to fall down.  Texas?  Only one of the census report indicated any untoward (slave ownership) – and that was more than 112 years ago…

Judge me by my ancestors?  Hell, I didn’t even know my mom’s parents – they both died before I was even born!

I did a U.S. census thing before, back when I was married (yes, hundreds of months ago, in the 90’s) – they would call me, and I would answer questions etc.  Eventually, the ex would ask, “Who are you talking to?”  “The U.S. Census”, I would say.  In retrospect, it seems like they called me a lot.  My secret friends, from the U.S. government!

“Who am us anyway?”, per The Firesign Theatre.

Ron:  Natural habitat: record stores.  As habitat vanished, Ron sought out record stores in increasingly exotic locations: Tokyo, Toronto, Thousand Oaks.  Thought to be the last of his kind, Ron was sentenced to 10 years of writing on the internet, diabetes, and thinning hair.  No phonograph records were harmed in the making of this imaginary factotum.

This entry was posted in Media, Record Collecting, Record stores, Ultimate Collection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

