Time Machine 1972

5-7-12                         Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of May 8, 1972

Caught my eye:

JANIS JOPLIN – In Concert (Columbia C2X-31160) double LP (LP)

WALTER CARLOS – Sonic Seasonings (Columbia KG31234) double LP (LP)

CONCEPTION CORPORATION – Conceptionland (and other states of mind) (Cotillion SD 9051) (LP/CD)

DAN HICKS AND HIS HOT LICKS – Striking It Rich (Blue Thumb BTS-36)

DR. JOHN – Gumbo (Atco SD 7006) (LP/CD)

Posthumous live Janis Joplin album.  Synthesizer atmospheres from Wendy Carlos.  I heard Conception Corporation on the radio, actually (KPFK-FM!).  Old-time music from Dan Hicks.  Genuine ‘gumbo’ from Dr. John, a classic album.

Also of interest:

EDDIE HARRIS – Instant Death (Atlantic SD 1611) (CD)

GODFREY DANIEL – Take A Sad Song (Atlantic SD 7219) (LP)

DON CHERRY – Eternal Rhythm (MPS 20204)

DON “SUGARCANE” HARRIS – Fiddler On The Rock (MPS 20878)

Mostly jazz here – records it took me a while to get around to.  Took about 25 years for me to try Godfrey Daniel!  Sugarcane Harris was on Frank Zappa’s “Hot Rats”!

Notable singles:

JADE WARRIOR – Barazinbar (Vertigo 106)

ELTON JOHN – Rocket Man b/w Suzie (Dramas) (Uni 55328)

AMERICA – I Need You b/w Riverside (Warner Brothers 7580)

CROSBY & NASH – Immigration Man (Atlantic 2873)

JIMMY CASTOR BUNCH – Troglodyte (RCA Victor 48-1029)

WAYNE COCHRAN & THE C.C. RIDERS – Somebody’s Been Cuttin’ In On My Groove (Epic 5-10859)

Yet another US Vertigo 45.  Hit singles for Elton John and America.  That fun Crosby & Nash 45 I mentioned last week.  Nice funky R&B hit for Jimmy Castor (R.I.P.).  Near the end of the line for Wayne Cochran & The C.C. Riders – but a good song anyway – I wonder if the 45 version omits the overt ‘drug’ references?

This entry was posted in 1972, Comedy, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Machine 1972

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    It’s funny. I’ve heard “Rocket Man” for 40 years. Just in the last few years has it “clicked” with me. I find the song incredible now. First 37 or so years – eh. Now, every time I hear it on a public music system, I really enjoy it. Not bad for a tune that was an admitted rip on Bowie’s “Space Oddity.” Now it’s my favorite Elton John tune, easily.

    I’ve never ever heard of The Conception Corporation. Now that I look, I see that Severn Darden was involved, so it might be of interest. The Second City was a fertile source of great comedy and acting.

    Neneh Cherry has just made an album [“Cherry Thing”] where she’s performing with free jazz trio The Thing and they cover Don’s “Golden Heart” among other delights. Sounds like a nice throwback to her Rip Rig & Panic sound!

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    I forgot to mention that the only of these records in my Record Cell is “Troglodyte!”

Leave a Reply

