Peter Bergman (1939 – 2012)

Peter Bergman of The Firesign Theatre has died, here in Los Angeles.

The Firesign Theatre were very important to me, while growing up.  My late brother and I were always very fond of Peter Bergman – his voice, his wit etc.  When we had the chance to meet him, he was really nice to us.

I may be alone here, but I always thought Lee Vaunce & The Smoker should’ve been a full-fledged Firesign side-project – though it is consigned to KPFK addicts and Bergman completists.

I always particularly hate it when good comedians die – as there are so few people I find funny / amusing these days.  I am always craining my neck towards the past for humor that I like – I hope Mr. Bergman can now have a nice chat with Spike Milligan or Lenny Bruce.

“Forward, into the past” – Peter Bergman, you will be greatly missed.

Love,

Ron Kane

This entry was posted in Comedy, Listening, obit, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peter Bergman (1939 – 2012)

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Firesign Theatre: The Poet, The Actor, and the Two Funny Guys. It was an incredible ballet of comedy that worked on an astonishing number of levels. [the more you listen, the more you’ll discover] I’ll miss him a lot going forward.

  2. Wow! I was just thinking about Peter Bergman!
    I saw Proctor and Bergman live at the Ash Grove in Los Angeles, about 35 years ago. What a fantastic and fun night that was.
    Also, since you know about ‘Lee Vaunce And The Smoker’, may I ask you a question: Who was ‘Lee Vaunce’? I know that ‘The Smoker’ was Peter Bergman.
    I heard both KPFK shows, and then it was shut down.
    I like the bit about the ‘gas-operated combs’.

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    Lee Vaunce was played by actor Michael C. Gwynne, as far as I know. I think I have 4 of those shows on tape somewhere in the archives.

Leave a Reply

