Music Video Project

3-6-12             Music Video Project

Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour born 1945, C&W legend Bob Wills born 1905; Which one’s pink?

March marches on – and I continue to work on my “Music Video Project”.  Towards the end of February 2012, I originated a new 59 minute volume:

Music Videos Volume 52 (aka MV-52)

Art Of Noise – Kiss (with Tom Jones) (1988)

Art Of Noise – Yebo (1989)

Fall, The – Cruiser’s Creek (long vers.)

Wyman, Bill – (Si Si) Je Suis Un Rock Star (1982)

Wyman, Bill – New Fashion, A (1982)

Wyman, Bill – Come Back Suzanne (1982)

Soft Cell – Memorabilia (1981)

Soft Cell – Tainted Love (’91 vers.)

Soft Cell – Bedsitter (1981)

Soft Cell – Torch (1982)

Soft Cell – What (1982)

Soft Cell – Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (’91 vers.)

Soft Cell – Soul Inside (1983)

Soft Cell – Where The Heart Is (1982)

Of course, we deal with the ephemeral nature of music most clearly with this volume.

As far as I know, all videos are stereo, and reasonably good masters.  The Soft Cell titles came from a Japanese laser disc, dubbed many years ago.  The Bill Wyman videos – which were just a little too outré for MTV – were sold as a Sony “Video 45” – in stereo hi-fi (Beta)!  The Fall came off of some sort of VHS-dubbed-to-Beta demo reel of “alt” bands – I think I kept it because I realized how unusual a 7 minute version of “Cruiser’s Creek” was.  I’m pretty sure the Art of Noise clips came from ¾” U-matic videocassettes that were dubbed to Beta.

Bill Wyman never made music videos again, as far as I know.  He continued to make albums, but…not ‘pop songs’ with music videos, per se.  When I mentioned Bill Wyman to Jim D., he had an amusing paraphrasing from Trouser Press magazine, panning “A New Fashion”, which I rather enjoy!  When was the last time I had to consider Bill Wyman?

And I do believe that the Soft Cell clips are what were serviced as clips, and not just things chopped out of “Non Stop Exotic Video Show” – the first time I ran across “Bedsitter” in my music video collection, I am almost 100% certain it was from ‘film’ – the one here is on videotape!

This entry was posted in Media, Music Video and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music Video Project

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    The only clip I’ve ever seen for “Bedsitter” was definitely a video production by Tim Pope. Lovingly cheap, shiny and garish. Come to think of it, that’s the only Soft Cell video I’ve ever seen, period. No, wait! I saw what seemed to be a [filmed] clip for “Down In The Subway” on MTVs “London Calling.”

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    Well, you haven’t considered Bill Wyman because he had the simple human decency to quit The Rolling Stones 20 years ago, when it was only 10 years past it’s sell-by date, not 30! Though they are assured a Guinness Book listing, I think it’s horribly wrong that the ghastly simulacrum of The Rolling Stones still exist 48 years later! That’s not to say that Mick Jagger isn’t a better stage presence now than 40 years ago. We were looking at the ’72 tour DVD and you can see the toll that drugs took on him 40 years ago as compared to his lithe performance [at a pensioneer’s age!] in “Shine A Light” from a few years back. But that salient fact doesn’t let the Stones off the hook for a lot to answer to in terms of their avarice.

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    Jim-san,

    I sent you an MV-52, what did you think of it?

    RK

Leave a Reply

