Time Machine 1972

3-5-12                         Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of March 6, 1972

Caught my eye:

JETHRO TULL – Thick As A Brick (Reprise 2072) (LP/CD)

SPIRIT – Feedback (Epic KE-31175)

WAYNE COCHRAN / C.C. RIDERS – Cochran! (Epic E-30989) (LP)

THOMAS F. BROWNE – Wednesday’s Child (Vertigo VEL-1011)

I already had a British import of the Jethro Tull LP – the hippie record store got it in before I even knew it was coming out!  The Spirit LP looked good, but I didn’t get it then.  I had seen Wayne Cochran’s big white pompadour on TV – I had no idea what he / it sounded like.  Thomas F. Browne is likely one of the least interesting artists on Vertigo!

Also of interest:

CLAIRE HAMMILL – One House Left Standing (Island/ Capitol SW-9316) (LP)

SAVOY BROWN – Hellbound Train (Parrot 71052)

FLOYD CRAMER – Detours (RCA LSP-4676) (LP)

STEVIE WONDER – The Music Of My Mind (Tamla 314)

Claire Hammill was on Island, and that was enough for me by ’72.  I knew “Train To Nowhere” by Savoy Brown (several years earlier).  Instrumental EZ / C&W from Mr. Floyd Cramer.  R&B benefits from Mr. Wonder’s early 70’s LP’s – yeah!

Notable singles:

ALICE COOPER – Be My Lover b/w Yeah Yeah Yeah (Warner 7568)

BAY CITY ROLLERS – Keep On Dancing b/w Alright (Bell 45169)

ELTON JOHN – Tiny Dancer b/w Razor Face (Uni 55318)

JO JO GUNNE – Run Run Run b/w Take It Easy (Asylum 11003)

PAUL KANTER – Sunfighter b/w China (Grunt 65-0503)

ROBERTA FLACK – First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Atlantic 2864)

Nice A-side from Alice Cooper.  Pre-“Saturday Night” U.S. Rollers single – their US debut?  Good FM hit for Elton John (too long for AM radio?).  Dandy A-side for Jo Jo Gunne.  A distinct non-hit for Paul Kanter & Grace Slick.  EZ R&B big time hit for Roberta Flack.

This entry was posted in 1972, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Machine 1972

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Phew! I remember when Roberta Flack had the hit that would not die in 1972! As a child I found the song slow going and excessively maudlin. Still do. I was appalled when it topped the Billboards charts for top ranked single of the year.

Leave a Reply

