Woodstock

3-1-12             Woodstock

Singer / Songwriter Harry Belafonte born 1927, Who vocalist Roger Daltrey born 1944; I own records by both.  I saw Belafonte live on stage, when I was a child.

As a child, I think I first heard about “Woodstock” on the television news – half-a-million hippies somewhere in New York, lots of bands…seemed too good to be true.  A short while later, the “Life Magazine” “Woodstock Issue” appeared – with loads of great still photographs of musicians that I liked.  And hippies in the mud.

What?  There’s gonna be a record of this event?  A 3LP set that will cost about $8.99?  And a movie?  It’ll probably be “R”-rated, so who will take me to see it?  (It was my mother who took me to see “Woodstock” in a movie theatre, and my dad who bought me the $8.99 3LP set).

From the original 3LP set, I am still good with the majority of music they picked.  In 2012, I am very into the Sly & The Family Stone set – yes, I bought the 2CD “Woodstock Experience” CD set from them; nice stuff!  Very funky, but only 1 disc of actual Woodstock appearances.

By 1970, there had not really been much ever released from the first big rock festival that I ever heard about – the Monterey International Rock Festival, held in glorious Monterey, California in the early summer of 1967.  So it is safe to say that the 3LP “Woodstock” set was the first ‘rock festival’ album that I ever heard – but it certainly wasn’t the last!

John B. Sebastian, Canned Heat, Richie Havens, Country Joe & The Fish, Arlo Guthrie, Sha Na Na, Joan Baez, Crosby Stills Nash & Young, The Who, Joe Cocker, Santana, Ten Years After, Jefferson Airplane, Sly & The Family Stone, The Butterfield Blues Band and Jimi Hendrix – this is what was on “Woodstock”, the 3LP set on Cotillion Records.  Whoever edited together the original album did a pretty good job – it all seems to go together well.

Even my 11 / 12 year old mind knew that there was something ‘at work’ with all this marketing of hippie stuff.  If it’s really hippie stuff, it should be “Underground” – and – to my knowledge – there weren’t many (any?) bootleg LP’s of “Woodstock” performances at the time.  That would’ve been “Underground”, maaan!

But, no.  The youth culture was assembled, packaged and sold by Atlantic Records – in the modern day, the physical product is sold by Rhino Records, who seem to have ‘done the right thing’ with a decent re-mastering in 2009.  I also duly bought a Warner Brothers DVD of the “Woodstock’ film; I believe it’s a 5.1 disc, too.  Also got a re-mastered “Woodstock 2” 2CD set – with some real nice Jimi Hendrix performances.

But I was too young for all of this hippie stuff, still in elementary school in 1969.  But I could listen to it.  And I did.

This entry was posted in 1969, Event, Listening, Live music, Music Business and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

