Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

2-29-12                     Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

I continue to get Strange Days magazine from Japan, via Kinokuniya books in Los Angeles.  They’re still running their wonderful “Time Machine” column, now that it’s moved from 1971 to 1972.

January 1972 releases:

Paul Simon “Paul Simon” (Columbia US LP KC 30750); Jerry Garcia “Garcia” (Warner Brothers US LP BS 2582); Jackson Browne “Jackson Browne” (aka “Saturate Before Using”) (Asylum SD 5051);  Dave Edmunds “Rockpile” (Regal Zonophone UK LP SLRZ 1026); Blue Oyster Cult “Blue Oyster Cult” (Columbia US LP KC 31063); Flash “Flash” (debut) (Sovereign UK LP SVNA 7251); Linda Ronstadt “Linda Ronstadt” (Capitol US LP SMAS 635); Captain Beefheart “The Spotlight Kid” (Reprise UK LP K 44162); and Ry Cooder “Into The Purple Valley” (Reprise US LP MS 2052).

Of the titles today, I only own Paul Simon, Flash and Ry Cooder – the latter two are the only ones I have on CD.

I had been a Simon & Garfunkel fan.  I have never particularly been interested in the Grateful Dead – or solo albums by their members – though I do like the debut solo album by their drummer, Mickey Hart, “Rolling Thunder”.  This is the debut album by Jackson Browne, with his hit single “Doctor My Eyes” to be found here.  Not sure what’s on this Dave Edmunds album, but I do not ever recall seeing a UK copy of it – or I probably would’ve bought it, as I was a big fan of Love Sculpture.  Not a Blue Oyster Cult fan, to speak of.  I absolutely love the Flash album, and the single from this album, “Small Beginnings”.  I doubt I knew who Linda Ronstadt was in 1972 – I didn’t mind The Stone Poneys.  I was great guns with Captain Beefheart in 1969 (“Trout Mask Replica”), but by 1972 – I was out of the pool.  I loved the Reprise debut album by Ry Cooder, so this one was an easy purchase in early ’72.

40 years hence, the Flash album is my favorite, from this list.  And I like the Ry Cooder album better now than I did then.  I don’t listen to a lot of Paul Simon solo work these days, but the debut solo album is the one I would gravitate to.  And I would really like to find a reasonably-priced Regal Zonophone UK LP for the Dave Edmunds album!

This entry was posted in 1972, Strange Days, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time Machine 1972 (Strange Days)

  1. Brian Ware says:

    I recall having the Blue Oyster Cult debut and still think it was pretty good for early 70s American rock music, although I really didn’t follow them after that. Prog was my passion by 1972, so of course I was all over the Flash LP as well. I was rather amused with the cover art, but what 17 year old male wouldn’t be?

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    So Flash were prog? I only ever saw this album discussed in the Hipgnosis coffee table book and the actual music wasn’t mentioned.

    I always liked “Cities On Flame” but could never bring myself to actually buy the album. And yet, I own the first Van Halen album!!!!! In spite of its many flaws.

  3. Brian Ware says:

    Peter Banks was the original guitarist for Yes and appeared on their first two LPs. He left in 1970 and started Flash.

  4. postpunkmonk says:

    Brian Ware – Oh, I get it. The Yes albums anyone under a certain age never heard. So did Steve Howe replace him or was it a case of two guitarists and one splitting?

  5. Brian Ware says:

    It’s my understanding that Steve Howe replaced him.

Leave a Reply

