Time Machine 1972

1-23-11                     Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of January 24, 1972

Caught my eye:

HEVY GUNZ – Dope On Dope and Dope Doops (Enterprise ENS-1022) (LP)

PETER YARROW – Peter (Warner BS 2599) (LP)

HORACE SILVER – United States Of Mind (Blue Note 84368)

Hevy Gunz were a comedy group – in the 99 cent bin – believe it or not, this album was eventually re-released as 1/2 of a double LP!  Peter Yarrow is the Peter of Peter Paul & Mary.  Unless I am mistaken, he was also the last of the three to issue his ‘solo’ album.    I didn’t catch up to Horace Silver until “In Pursuit Of The 27th Man”, but I know this album is a groovy one!

Also of interest:

ERIC MERCURY – Funky Sounds Nurtured… (Enterprise ENS-1020) (LP)

PAUL JONES – Crucifix In A Horseshoe (London XPS-605)

BRINSLEY SCHWARZ – Silver Pistol (U.A. UAS-5566)

RAY STEVENS – Turn Your Radio On (Barnaby 30809)

I’m very into Eric Mercury in 2012 – “Electric Black Man” etc. – but I do not know this album as well (and only on CD in Japan!).  Paul Jones used to be the vocalist of Manfred Mann.  Brinsley Schwarz featured Nick Lowe on bass.  Ray Stevens was more in his “Mr. Businessman” mode than his “Ahab The Arab” mode – both are OK for me.

Notable singles:

BENNY HILL – Ernie, The Fastest Milkman In The West b/w Ting-A-Ling-A-Loo (Capitol 3272)

BREAD – Everything I Own b/w I Don’t Love You (Elektra 45765)

JONATHAN KING – Hooked On A Feeling (Parrot 3029)

BEE GEES – My World b/w On Time (Atco 6871)

CAROLE KING – Sweet Seasons b/w Pocket Money (Ode 66022)

I never knew this Benny Hill single came out in the US!  More M.O.R. Bread hits.  How did Jonathan King beat Blue Swede to this song?  Nice song from Carole King – and decidedly a non-hit Bee Gees 45 in the US (but I understand it was huge in Japan and most of the rest of the world etc.)

This entry was posted in 1972, Comedy, Listening, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time Machine 1972

  1. Misterbee says:

    Where does the Mac Davis “hooked on a Feeling” fit in the timeline. I know it was before the BLue Swede version, but….

  2. Ron Kane says:

    Jonathan King’s came last, most certainly. What an iffy song!

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    The Jonathan King version of “Hooked On A Feeling” was released in 1971. Blue Swede’s followed in ’73… ’74 in The States. I’ve never heard the King version but scuttlebutt has it the “oooga-chaka” refrain was lifted straight from the King version. I also remember the B.J. Thomas version from ’68.

    Have you seen the video for the David Hasselhoff version? I think it was done a few years back. DANGER! It will melt you mind!!!
    http://www.davidhasselhoff.com/video/david-hasselhoff-hooked-on-a-8

  4. Brian Ware says:

    The man… the artistry… the vision… DON”T HASSEL THE HOFF!!!

    • postpunkmonk says:

      Mr. Ware – I’m so sorry I infected your mind. Someone [I can’t remember who, exactly] sent me that link years ago and with what we were discussing I felt it might be cogent… just barely. It’s just another example of This Fallen World®!

Leave a Reply

