Time Machine

1-16-12                     Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of January 17, 1972

Caught my eye:

YES – Fragile (Atlantic SD 7211) (LP/CD)

KING CRIMSON – Islands (Atlantic SD 7212) (LP/CD)

EMERSON, LAKE & PALMER – Pictures At An Exhibition (Cotillion SD 6666) (LP/CD)

LENNY BRUCE – Live At The Curran Theatre (Fantasy 34201) triple LP (LP)

Well, readers – I was certainly in the record stores downtown for this week’s releases!  Imagine my good fortune – a King Crimson LP!  And I heard “Roundabout” by Yes the same week, either in the hippie record store or on the FM radio.  I think I already had the (then inexpensive) import version of ELP’s “Pictures At An Exhibition”.  And I obviously couldn’t afford a triple comedy LP on my non-existent budget of 1972 – but I was into him…and I did eventually get a copy (it’s a whole show!).

Also of interest:

LORD SUTCH / HEAVY FRIENDS – The Hands of Jack The Ripper (Cotillion SD 9049)

HERMETO PASCOAL – Hermeto (Cobblestone 9000) (LP)

LIGHTHOUSE – Thoughts Of Movin’ On (Evolution 3010)

I had the first Cotillion Lord Sutch album (I just got a CD of it recently!), but…this LP was likely $3.98 – so I didn’t bother with it – it would take a few years for my Joe Meek fandom to make me more curious about Lord Sutch.  No, I didn’t know who / what Hermeto was then – that would take until the U.S. release of “Slave’s Mass” (my favorite concert of the last 20 years was Hermeto playing live at UCLA a few years back).  I suppose Hermeto had already played with Miles Davis by the time this LP was released?  And is this the LP by Lighthouse that sported the fine single “One Fine Morning”?

Notable singles:

NEIL YOUNG – Heart of Gold b/w Sugar Mountain (Reprise 1065)

GILBERT O’SULLIVAN – No Matter How I Try (Mam 3617)

MELANIE – Nickel Song (Buddah 268)

Perennially non-LP Neil Young B-Side, eh?  Another non-hit Gilby single.  Melanie was still a ways off from “Brand New Key”.  She sure seemed to have a lot of duds.

This entry was posted in 1972, England, Listening, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

