Time Machine

12-26-11                Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of December 27, 1971

Caught my eye:

AL KOOPER / STEVE STILLS etc. – Super Session (Columbia CQ-30991) QUAD re-issue

GEORGE HARRISON etc. – The Concert for Bangla Desh (Apple STCX-3385) triple LP

KEN NORDINE – How Are Things In Your Town? (Blue Thumb BTS-33) double LP

Al Kooper & Co. in QUAD!  Where’s the 5.1 SA-CD of this title?  I think I got “Bangla Desh” for Christmas in 1971, so it must’ve come out before 12/27/71!!  Leon Russell!  Bob Dylan!  I learned who Ken Nordine was by this LP hitting the cut-out bins within a year or so of this release – it was everywhere – a double album – for 99 cents.

Also of interest:

BELL & ARC (Columbia 31142)

ATOMIC ROOSTER – In Hearing Of… (Elektra EKS-74109)

RAY STEVENS – Greatest Hits (Barnaby ZQ-30770) QUAD re-issue

Bell & Arc was licensed from Charisma / B&C, England.  I never went with Atomic Rooster once Chris Farlowe took over on vocals…somehow can’t wrap my head around a quad version of Ray Stevens “Ahab The Arab”.

Notable singles:

BILLY EDD WHEELER – Gifts b/w Plutebobelle (RCA 74-0610)

THE FACES – Stay With Me b/w You’re So Rude (Warner 7545)

HUDSON & LANDRY – Ajax Airlines (Dore 868)

Oh, and tons of “Back-to-back Hits” 45’s from Warners etc.  B.E.W. is a C&W / bluegrass songwriter who eventually wrote for Kenny Rogers.  The Faces single is from “A Nod Is As Good As A Wink” and you used to hear it on the FM radio rather a lot.  Hudson & Landry were L.A. radio comedians, and this – along with “Ajax Liquor Store” was typical of their output.  Emperor Hudson!!

This entry was posted in 1971, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Machine

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I can’t imagine Ray Stevens even in stereo!

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    That reminds me of the weird effect of hearing music from your childhood, that was only ever experienced in mono [if you were me], decades later, as stereo. Ons such instance I vivdly recall, possibly the first time this happened for me, was when I had a yen to hear the last hit from Tommy James, “Draggin The Line” for the first time since 1971. It was 1985 and I trucked over to Peaches, who carried a decent selection of “old gold” catalog 45 material and bought that sucker. It was very novel hearing it in two channel as an adult.

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    The Faces track is pretty good. With Rod The Mod singing, that’s a big statement from me. I have come to hate that guy, but at that time, he had the goods. It’s because the first years of his career were decent but the last 35 years were dross, that he raises such ire in me. Particularly since the dross has sold very well for they guy.

  4. ronkanefiles says:

    “Stay with me” is indeed a good track. I have no problem with Rod in The Faces, but most of his solo work is…not to my taste. I like most of the band members of The Faces, too.

  5. ronkanefiles says:

    Jim-san,

    Yes, I grew up in an era when Ray Stevens was having decent (tho’ rascist)
    novelty hits like “Ahab The Arab”. His two x ’62 – ’64 Mercury LP’s were
    both issued in stereo and are…quite good. Finding the 2nd one took
    ages, but cost little. “Ahab The Arab” in stereo is interesting, as the
    LP vers. is longer than the mono 45.

    RK

  6. Brian Ware says:

    The first Ray Stevens song I connected with was a non-novelty track called “Mr. Businessman”. I bought the 45 probably around 1968. Pretty good rocking piano driven tune about the evils of America’s corporate culture. Dang, why hasn’t anyone thought to re-issue it for today?

Leave a Reply

