Time Machine 1971

12-12-11

Time Machine

Phonolog Reports – New Releases

Week of December 13, 1971

Caught my eye:

BADFINGER – Straight Up (Apple SW-3387) (CD)

MOUNTAIN – Flowers Of Evil (Windfall 5501) (LP/CD)

GORDON HASKELL – It Is & It Isn’t (Atco SD 33-378) (LP/CD)

Great Badfinger LP – really flying their ‘Beatles flag’.  I heard Mountain on the FM radio (and I think I saw them on the TV over the summer of ’71), and I knew about their connection to Cream (via the late Mr. Felix Pappalardi).  I was all into King Crimson, but I doubt I knew about this wonderful Gordon Haskell LP until well after it was released – when I went looking for it in the hippie record stores of the day, there it was – in the 99 cent bin (I also could find a single from it – “Sitting By The Fire”).

Also of interest:

ISAAC HAYES – Black Moses (Enterprise 2-5003) double LP

THE KINKS – Muswell Hillbillies (RCA LSP-4644)

KOOL & THE GANG – Live At PJ’s (De-Lite 2010)

Isaac Hayes!  The king of R&B double LP’s!  (It was him or James Brown!)  Never quite sure what to make of groups that leave Warner / Reprise (which The Kinks did); dang, only 1971 and Kool & The Gang already get a live album!  I bet’s it’s “cookin’”!

Notable singles:

DAVID BOWIE – Changes b/w Andy Warhol (RCA 74-0605)

HARRY NILSSON – Without You b/w Gotta Get Up (RCA 74-0604)

SLADE – Coz I Love You (Cotillion 44139)

Nope, I didn’t hear this Bowie single at this time – but who did?; always did like the B-side of this Nilsson single; Took me years to hear this Slade single – I just love it, but I certainly never heard them at the time.  No way.  Funny to think that Slade (in the US) went from Fontana to Cotillion to Polydor to Warner Brothers.

This entry was posted in 1971, Listening, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Machine 1971

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    As such an ardent admirer of “Lizard,” I’d be interested in the Gordon Haskell work. His website looks interesting! I wonder how his new music sounds?

    I was sad to hear of Leslie West’s loss of his leg this summer, but he soldiers on anyway. I was gobsmacked when I saw how much weight he lost in a late 90s “Goldmine” interview. He looked like Tom Jones, then! He looks like he kept the pounds off well since then but diabetes is a rough one.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    This is easily the best G. Haskell album (and now on CD no less). Hadn’t heard about Leslie West – at least he’s still alive.

Leave a Reply

