Upcoming Events

Very shortly, I will be investigating an odd sub-culture:  Christian Rock music, in the 1970’s.  Apparently, Costa Mesa, CA was the epicenter of activity of this nature.  I’ve found someone who was “part” of this scene, and has agreed to talk to me about it.  Should be interesting!

Still slaving away at finding out everything I can about the humble 45rpm disc.  I really can’t believe that as many of them are different from the LP versions.  Steppenwolf & Three Dog Night, for instance; the 45’s were always given that “extra bit of something”, apparently.  Like a different lead vocal, or a new brass section part or…

Will this be one of the last Christmas seasons where physical pieces of music are flogged?  Will Joe be able to make enough cash to do a Fresno run in February 2012 by all of the Xmas CD’s he sells on Amazon and eBay?

It’s early November, I still haven’t heard any Xmas music yet…can’t wait to play my Leon Russell Xmas 45, my Chambers Brothers Xmas 45 etc. – And, yes, I did find the Albert Brooks Xmas 45!

Now Playing: Spike Jones “Wild Bill Hiccup” (1949); Now Pictured above: Joe Cocker “The Letter” A&M US 45 picture sleeve.

This entry was posted in Listening, Music Business, Record Collecting, Uncategorized, Xmas Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upcoming Events

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I love the original Box Tops 7″ of “The Letter.” At 1:45, surely one of the shortest hits ever! They definitely “leave ’em wanting more*” with that cut!

    * The first rule in my [brief] Rule Book of this Business Called ‘Show.’

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    I didn’t know you were a Boxtops man, Jim-san!

Leave a Reply

