Cloud Collection?

10-25-11               

‘Cloud’ Collection?           

The L.A. Times recently ran an article about how clicking on “Like” on a film’s page in FB allows you to download the film to your “Cloud collection”.  Absolute nonsense!

Let me get this right – Film companies don’t want to sell you a physical DVD of any given film, they want you to pay to download a film – keep it on the internet, and not have a physical specimen in your hands.  What about the hundreds of DVD’s you’ve already purchased?  Apparently, it will be cool for you to upload your personal DVD collection to your “Cloud Collection”.  What, and then you can have a binder of color photocopies of the DVD boxes?

Just say No to downloaded (or uploaded) films!

So, I heard years and years ago that record companies wanted you to download an artist’s individual tracks and ‘product packaging’, so they could cut out the replicating & transportation costs.  Not real fond of that idea either.

I was at 3 x swap meets during the month of September, 2011 – the crate diggers there weren’t thinking, “This isn’t any fun.  I want to download old, rare, original vinyl”.  That’s right – look for your break-beats on-line.

There must be some part of our human experience that desires to physically look at a product before purchasing it.  When all the record stores are finally put out of business, I bet there will still be swap meets!  For me, product packaging has always been important.  On-line, I can’t see what the paper / printing is like etc.

So, if I want to continue to buy SA-CD’s and multi-channel audio entertainment – I’m going to have to download it?  What will I play it on?  My radio / stereo that isn’t connected to the internet?  A funky TV that I don’t yet own that has a computer in it?

I have my 20th century concerns – I want to buy my music in a public place, and take it home and listen to it.  What part of this transaction is a) buying / listening to the music or b) being in a public place that sells music?  Can I download some food and medicine, while I’m at it?  I do still want to leave my home at times!

Yes, it can be troublesome to have a large physical collection of music.  I can’t even lift the heavy cartons anymore!  But…I own it already and have an irrevocable right to listen to that music, whenever I can find it in my home!  I bought it and paid for it, it’s MINE.  No record company can decide that they want to “un-sell” any part of my collection.

I am 100% certain that your “Cloud Collection” will “be there forever”, as the internet (and software) never has any issues.  No hard drive has ever failed.  No “access” has ever been denied.  You enjoy your “Cloud Collection”, OK?

This entry was posted in Music Business, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cloud Collection?

  1. Warren says:

    You like owning physical discs and packaging? Good. If that’s what makes you happy, then you can have them. I have “done” almost as many physical formats of recovered media as you, and I don’t care if I ever buy another unit again. At this point, all I care about is the content. If I have to buy a physical disc to get it, I am less likely to make the purchase. And no, I am prolly not signing up for any cloud storage any time soon, unless it’s as some kind of tertiary backup.

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    Remember kids – the cloud can go away at any time! Like Warren, I’d trust it only with tertiary backup. Physical backup to a fat hard drive is great. If you need to restore, FireWire 800 is many times faster than my DSL connection to rebuild the server. Also, keep a clone of your hard drive offsite in case of disaster. So, that’s your hard drive in your media server, a backup onsite, a backup offsite and then the cloud if you want tertiary peace of mind. I don’t even have a music server, I’m just saying…

    But I can see the time when I will have a music server. Digitizing my vinyl in the CD A Week Project has actually got me listening to music I’ve bought and paid for decades ago. The infinite iPod [as I call it] will be good when I get around to it. I foresee getting an old iMac and only running iTunes on it. The music will be kept on an external Fire Wire 6TB hard drive that can be daily-chained to provide more storage as necessary. The iMac will go in the TV tower where the turntable [next to computer for years now] and VCRs [ditto] used to take up space. The pleasure of the iMac is that they come with a remote control and the Front Row software gives slick access to your media library; all navigable by remote control.

    So – if you have your entire library on those hard drives, you can sit on your couch and drive the system as long as the batteries in your remote hold out. Play a track and the cover art [or anything else you put there] will display on the screen at full size or better than the physical disc.

    Of course, this ties you down to the living room for listening. And I don’t know about you, but I almost never listen there. I actually listen to most of my music in the car, so maybe cloud access would be better, but I can’t and won’t imagine ever paying for the access. I’ve never had a cell phone. I never will. That’s one more monthly bill I refuse to pay, and thus the same it is for “the cloud.”

    So maybe I’ll still stick with CDs.

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    Jim-san,
    I like your plan, but I need a version sans iMac / iTunes.
    Ron

    • Misterbee says:

      I expect there are plenty of options out there that don’t involve an iMac or iTunes. But there would prolly be a computer of some sort involved.

Leave a Reply

