The Specials

9-27-11

The Specials

Are they still together? I don’t think so.  Perhaps minus Jerry Dammers?

Did you ever see them play live?  Yes, once.  Long ago.  (I think…)

Anything you want / need by them? Maybe some UK 7” singles.

You really should own / hear:

  1. The Specials (1980)
  2. More Specials (1980)
  3. Singles Collection (1991)

Coventry’s finest!  I heard the debut album under reasonably unusual circumstances – in France.  Love the singles.  I believe I saw them live years ago, but…am I confusing myself with the many live videos I have seen by The Specials.  Madness – definitely,  but did I go back and see The Specials too?  And it never mattered to me that their debut LP was produced by Elvis Costello – I know that mattered to some people at the time.

What a crime that there isn’t a whole album to go with “Ghost Town”, eh?  All 3 tracks of that 12” single are on the “Singles Collection”, which I highly recommend.

I did try to follow Terry Hall, through Fun Boy Three to Colourfield to Terry, Blair & Anouchka.  I certainly kept a career-spanning compilation CD on him that I found.  I sold a CD original copy of the Terry, Blair & Anouchka album for a lot of money, a while back – I guess it wasn’t so widely distributed?

I got the 2CD Two Tone collection a while back, and was surprised at how good a lot of the stuff they released was – I guess Jerry Dammers had pretty good taste, when it came to who to sign / produce etc.  But for me, The Specials were the best artist on Two Tone.

Side Two of “More Specials” was also a bit perplexing at the time – “Easy Listening” Specials?  But Side One was amazing.  And fairly easy to go for all of the debut album, despite the ‘thin’ sound.

This entry was posted in 1980, England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Specials

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    As I recall, the “MORe Specials” album had a sticker in the UK that covered the “e” in “more” thus making the visual pun complete.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    That’s what happened, as I recall, M.O.R. Specials…

Leave a Reply

