Scritti Politti

9-15-11

Scritti Politti

Are they still together? Yes, I think so.

Did you ever see them play live? Yes, once.  About ’06.  Roxy Theatre.

Anything you want / need by them?  Audiophile editions of any of their albums.  Maybe a stray UK 7” or two.

You really should own / hear:

  1. Songs To Remember (1982)
  2. Cupid & Psyche ’85 (1985)
  3. Provision (1988)

“ We don’t play ‘Perfect Way’ ” is how Green Gartside introduced the band when I finally got to see them play live at The Roxy in Los Angeles a few short years ago.  And I do conditionally recommend their newer works, “Anomie & Bonhomie” (1999) and “White Bread Black Beer” (2006).

I think the first S.P. record I ever heard was “Lions After Slumber” on a 12” single.  So, I got their album and it’s attendant singles as soon as possible – largely on the note that their keyboard player was Robert Wyatt.  “Asylums In Jerusalem” sounded great, but the other Rough Trade singles of that debut album are less impressive.

I really love “Cupid & Psyche ‘85” – “Absolute” was my favorite at the time, but over the years – I’ve listened so much, I think I now like “Don’t Work Too Hard” from their Virgin label debut as their most inspiring work.  What an astonishing “sounding” album!  I have a variant or two of this LP, a Japanese pressing that sounds like they used under-dubs; embossed vs. not embossed LP covers etc.  I was so ready for “Provision”, by the time it walked down the pike – the 11 year wait for “Anomie & Bonhomie” was almost tolerable.

And I will certainly be on the lookout for anything new from Mr. Gartside.  He seems to be writing and recording again these days.  A friend recently had a “writing workshop” with Mr. Green, in England.  Hmmm.

This entry was posted in 12" Records, England, Listening, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scritti Politti

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    “White Bread-Black Beer” quickly became my favorite Scritti album! I can hardly wait for his next move!

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    His albums are usually so far apart that I can have the time to treat each and every release as my favorite…until the next one comes along!

Leave a Reply

