The Damned

9-14-11

The Damned

Are they still together? I think so.

Did you ever see them play live?  Yes, about 1980. Whisky A-go-go.

Anything you want / need by them? Maybe some MCA era 7” UK singles?

You really should own / hear:

  1. Damned Damned Damned (1977)
  2. Music For Pleasure (1977)
  3. Machine Gun Etiquette (1979)
  4. The Black Album (1980)

I love The Damned; I love the way their original records sound.  I was most astonished to see how nicely their debut album cleaned up on the not-so-long-ago Japanese CD I got of it (as pictured), more or less a complete re-pro of the original LP issue (but with much better sound!!!),  And they weren’t disappointing live, either!  A swaggery Rat at the Whisky A-go-go: “We’re not the f-ing Eagles!”.

2 albums on Stiff, followed by 2 albums on Chiswick, followed by 2 albums on MCA.  The odd numbered albums are usually tremendous, the even numbered ones a bit less so.  A wonderful singles band, I can’t recommend “I Just Can’t Be Happy Today” enough.  I am tolerant of the “Grimly Fiendish” era, but it’s really all about either their debut or album #, “Machine Gun Etiquette” – which is the nearly-perfect UK “punk” LP.

As a side note to the activities of The Damned, I really liked the debut solo LP by Captain Sensible, “Women & Captains First” (A&M UK LP).  And I’ve picked up any David Vanian solo material I could find, Phantom Chords etc.  I chased the Brian James stuff for a while, too.

Their videos are reasonably good; virtually never shown in the US.  I suggest trying “Light At The End Of the Tunnel” as a video compilation – if you can find it!

This entry was posted in England, Listening, Live music, Record Collecting, Ultimate Collection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

