Ian Dury & The Blockheads

9-8-11

Ian Dury & The Blockheads

Are they still together? Nope.  Ian Dury died a while back.

Did you ever see them play live?  No.

Anything you want / need by them?  Japanese paper sleeve CD for “New Boots & Panties”; any CD edition of “4,000 Weeks Holiday”.

You really should own / hear:

  1. New Boots and Panties (1977)
  2. Do It Yourself (1979)
  3. Juke Box Dury (Best Of) aka “Greatest Hits”

R.I.P. Ian Dury (1942 – 2000)

I have Lou Reed to thank as to why I never got the chance to see them play live.  Dury & Co. (US Arista label-mates) were the opening act for Mr. Reed, and Velvet-U heads snapped up all the advance tickets.  The show was so outré that even the touts were nowhere to be seen.  I didn’t get in.

But I absolutely love “Do It Yourself”, the 2nd Blockheads album!  “What A Waste” was the single that got me started on The Blockheads.  I had to go back and get the debut album.  Too bad Chas Jankel couldn’t hang on, as “Laughter” (1980) is an appropriately slight effort, in my humble opinion.

But I continued to have a soft spot for Mr. Dury.  “Profoundly In Love With Pandora” was a delightful single in ’85.  It’s not on “Juke Box Dury”, his old Stiff label “Best Of”, however.  It was on EMI UK (a label he never gave an LP to, that I am aware of).  And then there’s his stint with WEA, “Apples” – a pretty decent album.

And definitely worth hearing is the latter day Blockheads album, “Mr. Love Pants” (1998), with Chas Jankel back in the fold.  Why isn’t the 2nd Chas Jankel solo album on CD?  The debut solo Chas J album is!

Mr. Dury certainly had a way with words.  I miss his humor a lot.

This entry was posted in England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ian Dury & The Blockheads

  1. Warren Bowman says:

    Inbetweenies really sucked me in to DIY. I am curious about this biopic, I wonder if it ever got a proper release in the states? http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1393020/

    • postpunkmonk says:

      Warren Bowman – I am as close to the target audience as possible for that film. It had such an annoying directorial style that I told my wife I had to turn it off within ten minutes of watching it!! Rarely have I been so put off by a film! And I lasted 25 minutes into “Tristam Shandy; A Cock & Bull Story!” A pity really, because the music was great and I clearly have an interest in seeing a film about Ian Dury – just not this one!

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    I still remember my astonishment at finding the lyrics to Side Two of “DIY” posted somewhere on the internet, many years ago. I’ve seen lots of Dury video, but no biopics. Why isn’t the 2nd Chas Jankel album on CD properly?

Leave a Reply

