Duran Duran

9-7-11

Duran Duran

Are they still together? Possibly.  I guess so.

Did you ever see them play live? No.

Anything you want / need by them? No, I don’t think so.  I recently found the Dual Disc of their sole SA-CD title, so I’m taken care of.

You really should own / hear:

  1. Duran Duran (1st) (1981) prefer orig. UK LP vers.
  2. Rio (1982)
  3. “The Best Of” (2005)

I’ve always had a hard time liking a band that was so damned popular!  For a few years, it seemed like you couldn’t turn on MTV without seeing one of their incomprehensible music videos.  I opted for the edited version of the CD + DVD “Best of” set that was released in 2005.  No need for the gross stuff, anyway.  I kept:

CD                ASTRONAUT (Dual Disc)                                                                                EPIC US                     EN 93512

2004 12 TRKS CD + DVD Dual Disc, 5.1 audio

7″                 CARELESS MEMORIES / KHANADA (PS)                                                   EMI UK                        EMI 5168

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

LP                DURAN DURAN (1981)                                                                                   CAPITOL US              ST-512158

1981 9 TRKS US version

7″                 GIRLS ON FILM / FASTER THAN LIGHT (PS)                                             EMI UK                        EMI 5206

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

CD                GREATEST (CD + DVD)                                                                                  CAPITOL US              73379-0-9

2005 31 TRK Collection + DVD (edited vers.)

7″                 HUNGRY LIKE THE WOLF / CARELESS MEMORIES (Live) (PS)           TOSHIBA JPN           EMS-17266

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

12″               IS THERE SOMETHING I SHOULD KNOW?                                               EMI UK                        12EMI 5371

1983 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″                 IS THERE SOMETHING I SHOULD KNOW? / FAITH IN THIS… (PS)      TOSHIBA JPN           EMS-17361

1983 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″                 MY OWN WAY / LIKE AN ANGEL (PS)                                                           TOSHIBA JPN           EMS-17235

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

12″               PLANET EARTH                                                                                                EMI UK                        12EMI 5137

1981 3 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″                 PLANET EARTH / LATE BAR (PS)                                                                 EMI UK                        EMI 5137

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

12″               RIO                                                                                                                      EMI UK                        12EMI 5346

1982 3 TRKS with pic sleeve

LP                RIO                                                                                                                      CAPITOL US              ST-12211

1982 9 TRKS

7″                 SAVE A PRAYER / HOLD BACK THE RAIN (Remix) (PS)                         EMI UK                        EMI 5327

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

I think “Planet Earth” is their best record by a fair distance.  The stuff after “Rio” just seemed…excessive.  No “Wild Boys” around here.

This entry was posted in England, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Duran Duran

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    You did know that the 2003/2010 RMs of “Duran Duran” finally have the original UK LP version on CD? The 2003 RM is the straight 1981 UK LP remastered to CD for the first time. The 2010 RM set has all of the b-sides, mixes, demos, BBC sessions, and a DVD of period TV appearances/videos. The drugs after “Rio” certainly were excessive. My favorite track from this period is the extended remix of “Hold Back The Rain,” which I never tire of. The 2009 “Rio” 2xCD RM is basically a “build-your-own-disc” version with all of the various mixes as the album was meddled with constantly. I think there are three different mix combinations of that album.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    I presume that’s the 2CD RM version that I frequently see ‘used’ about town? I could never get used to any version of the debut album that had “Is There Something I Should Know?” added to it.

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    Yeah, that was a lousy move I never liked either! Both of the DD 2K RMs lack “Is There Something I Should Know!” Sadly, the mastering on the 2xCD+DVD unit is said to be excessively LOUD. I might still get it for the unreleased material, if I find it cheap.

  4. ronkanefiles says:

    Well, it’s on the old US CD of the debut and probably the ’05 “G.H.”.

  5. Brian Ware says:

    Well, I consider myself a fan, and yes, I’ve seen them several times, but never in their 80s heyday.

    Originally, I found them “entertaining” as just one of the many U.K. groups during the early 80s new wave blitz. I certainly recognized the sharp musicianship, but clearly in those days I was not their intended audience. I also found the whole “Ragged Tiger”/ “Wild Boys” thing a bit much.

    Then someone (I think my band’s drummer) recommended “Notorious”, and I was most impressed. This along with the rather excellent “Arcadia” side project, presented a very different band. I started paying attention and continued to enjoy most of their late 80s output. 1993’s “Wedding Album” was superb, but the rest of the 90s not so much. I’m very fond of “Astronaut”, and highly recommend their most recent LP. We all enjoyed our debate back when Jim did his DD blogs several months ago, but suffice it to say that being a long term DD fan has been quite a rollercoaster ride.

Leave a Reply

