My SA-CD Chronology

6-14-2011

My SA-CD Chronology

I once found an SA-CD of the 4th Peter Gabriel album.  I was surprised that it would not play in my CD player.  But I kept it.  Took some time, but – looks like I got bit by the SA-CD bug in March, 2009:

DYLAN, BOB – BLONDE ON BLONDE, COLUMBIA US SA-CDx2 multi-channel

DYLAN, BOB – HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED, COLUMBIA US CD SA-CD

DYLAN, BOB – JOHN WESLEY HARDING, COLUMBIA US CD SACD

At this point, I may have had a few hybrid discs already in my collection, but they were items purchased without any thought as to whether or not they were SA-CD’s (Rolling Stones re-masters, Can re-masters etc.)  I found the “Blonde On Blonde” used for under $10, and I knew it was somehow a special edition, so I snatched it up.  It had good sound on my CD player, so I began to consider buying these silly SA-CD versions of Bob Dylan albums as I could find them.

In April 2009, I bought no SA-CD’s.  But I definitely had the idea that the DSD mastering used on SA-CD’s was phenomenal.  In May 2009

ROLLING STONES – ROLLING STONES NOW!, ABKCO US SA-CD

No more new SA-CD’s in June 2009.  But in July ’09 – just one new one:

DYLAN, BOB – BRINGING IT ALL BACK HOME, COLUMBIA US SACD

August 2009:

DYLAN, BOB – BLOOD ON THE TRACKS, COLUMBIA US SACD multi-channel

ROLLING STONES – GET YER YA-YA’S OUT, ABKCO US SACD

…and then I actually got an SA-CD player!

BOWIE, DAVID – SCARY MONSTERS, VIRGIN UK SA-CD

BOWIE, DAVID – ZIGGY STARDUST, VIRGIN UK SA-CD multi-channel

CAN – FLOW MOTION, MUTE US SA-CD

CAN – RITE TIME, MUTE US SA-CD

CAN – SAW DELIGHT, MUTE US SA-CD

CLAPTON, ERIC – 461 OCEAN BOULEVARD, POLYDOR US SA-CD multi-channel

CLAPTON, ERIC – SLOWHAND, POLYDOR US SA-CD multi-channel

DYLAN, BOB – ANOTHER SIDE OF, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

DYLAN, BOB – FREEWHEELIN’, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

DYLAN, BOB – NASHVILLE SKYLINE, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

EMERSON, LAKE & PALMER – BRAIN SALAD SURGERY (Deluxe edition), SANCTUARY UK 3CD SA-CD multi-channel

JOHN, ELTON – HONKY CHATEAU, ROCKET US SA-CD multi-channel

JOHN, ELTON – MADMAN ACROSS THE WATER, ROCKET US SA-CD multi-channel

MOODY BLUES – DAYS OF FUTURE PASSED (Deluxe edition), DERAM UK SA-CDx2 multi-channel

PINK FLOYD – DARK SIDE OF THE MOON, CAPITOL US SA-CD multi-channel

ROLLING STONES – 12 x 5, ABKCO US SA-CD

ROLLING STONES – BETWEEN THE BUTTONS (US), ABKCO US SA-CD

ROLLING STONES – OUT OF OUR HEADS (UK), ABKCO US SA-CD

ROLLING STONES – THROUGH THE PAST, DARKLY (US), LONDON US SA-CD

I finished August ’09 out with:

BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS – s/t (Album #2), MOBILE FIDELITY US SA-CD

DAVIS, MILES – KIND OF BLUE, COLUMBIA US SA-CD multi-channel, non-hybrid, playable only on an SA-CD player

DEREK & THE DOMINOS – LAYLA, POLYDOR US SA-CD multi-channel

DYLAN, BOB – SLOW TRAIN COMING, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

GABRIEL, PETER – PASSION, GEFFEN US SA-CD

HERMAN’S HERMITS – RETROSPECTIVE, ABKCO US SA-CD

JOHN, ELTON – CAPTAIN FANTASTIC & THE BROWN DIRT COWBOY, ROCKET US SA-CD multi-channel

JOHN, ELTON – s/t, ROCKET US SA-CD multi-channel

JOHN, ELTON – TUMBLEWEED CONNECTION, ROCKET US SA-CD multi-channel

Followed shortly by:

BAND, THE – MUSIC FROM BIG PINK, MOBILE FIDELITY US SA-CD

DYLAN, BOB – DESIRE, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

DYLAN, BOB / THE BAND – PLANET WAVES, COLUMBIA US SA-CD

MOODY BLUES – TO OUR CHILDREN’S CHILDREN’S CHILDREN, THRESHOLD UK SA-CDx2 Deluxe Edition, multi-channel

ROLLING STONES – AFTERMATH (US), ABKCO US SA-CD

ROLLING STONES – FLOWERS, ABKCO US SA-CD

ROXY MUSIC – AVALON, VIRGIN EU SA-CD multi-channel

WHO, THE – MY GENERATION, MCA US SA-CD non-hybrid, playable only on an SA-CD player

…and about this time, I begin picking up DVD-Audio titles (John Entwistle “Live!”)…

But the above described stuff was got me going on Super Audio CD’s.  Initially, I was most impressed with the stereo DSD mastering; the multi-channel aspect didn’t come until a bit later…

I really didn’t start buying DVD-Audio titles until I actually got a 5.1 system to play them on…in January, 2011.  By the time I got there, I definitely already had hoarded quite a few DVD-A titles.  And, I must say, the multi-channel aspect of some SA-CD’s was made quite apparent to me, with the advent of a 5.1 system set up in my home!

This entry was posted in Format, Record Collecting, SA-CD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

