A Dream

5-26-11

A Dream

A little diversion from my usual writing about music.  A few weeks ago, I had a particularly vivid dream, which I will describe.  I was tired, and I went to bed listening to a recording of Van Cliburn, the noted pianist.

I had driven to San Jose, CA to buy a large piece of obsolete recording equipment; something like an early 70’s Sony reel-to-reel deck – a 2-channel (not a 4-channel) – but definitely a reel-to-reel tape recorder in a wooden case.  A Sony?  Not the TC-850, but more like a Sony TC-650.  By the time I arrived it was night.  I was alone.

The place I needed to go was near some places I had visited previous in San Jose – when I was visiting my friend Big Mark in the 1980’s – near Park Blvd. (or was it Park Street, where “Dedicated Record Collector” Rex’s store used to be, in the 80’s?), in what I can describe as almost an “industrial area” – warehouses, not homes or retail.  Where I was going was a ‘warehouse’ near Park Blvd.

I don’t remember knocking on the door, I believe I was “expected”.  I did find the man who was supposed to be expecting me, he was older than me.  He was alone.  We chatted a bit – he seemed to think that I would not expect it to be such a heavy piece of equipment.

I understood fully what I was buying from him.  It was inexpensive, $60 or so – the point of my dream was not about what the tape deck cost.  It was clear to me that it was more about how I had to ‘go get it’, where it was etc.

He assisted me with getting the heavy tape deck off of a loading dock and into the trunk of my car – yes, I think I was in the Suzuki SX-4 that I currently drive.  Did it fit in the trunk?  I think so.  It fit into my car, and we concluded our deal.

Then I woke up to the sound of 5:00am light rain outside of my window.  I realized that I had been dreaming – but I knew I could remember some details of my dream.  Maybe I am subconsciously thinking I need / want a working Sony reel-to-reel deck?  I do own a few, not sure if they all work or not.

But why did my dream tell me that where I had to go was San Jose, CA?  $60 for a reel-to-reel in a wooden case.  I suppose I presumed it ‘worked’, and that I perceived what I was buying was a ‘bargain’.

I haven’t dreamt a lot over the last few months, so this dream really amused me, and got my attention.  What is my subconscious telling me?  To make sure my reel-to-reel decks are working?  Do I sense a project that will involve my 70’s reel-to-reel decks?  I was quite taken with recording equipment, in the 1970’s – I learned to edit tape with an Edit-All and a razor blade.  The results were good.

Maybe I am just searching for ‘perfection’ the only way I know how?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Dream

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    What is the first thing that comes to mind when you think of reel-to-reel decks. Write down feelings you associate with the decks. This may give you a clue as to the metaphoric thrust of the dream. While we are amused at dreams purely at face value, this is your subconscious working to connect with your conscious mind the only way it knows how. Using the contents of your memory to try to tell you something. The answer is there is you can do the forensic work. And the message is important and worth discerning.

Leave a Reply

