Spike Jones

5-10-11

Spike Jones 45’s

For the last year or so, I’ve been searching for Spike Jones RCA 45’s at shops and swap meets – and friends have helped out, too.  I have a basic discography of Spike Jones, but – already I have found 45’s not in the discography.  For me, it’s difficult to research pre-modern stuff, such as pre-rock ‘n’ roll 45’s.  Here’s what I’ve uncovered thus far:

CHARLESTON, THE / CHARLESTONO-MIO                                       RCA US               47-3198

1947? 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

THAT OLD BLACK MAGIC / LIEBESTRAUM                                       RCA US               47-3287

1948? 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

WILLIAM TELL OVERTURE / I KISS YOUR HAND MADAME           RCA US               47-3289

1948? 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

CHINESE MULE TRAIN / RIDERS IN THE SKY                                  RCA US               47-3741

1950 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

TENNESSEE WALTZ / I HAVEN’T BEEN HOME…                             RCA US               47-4011

1950 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

FAVORITES (EP) (PS)                                                                            RCA US               EPA 288

1951 4 TRKS with pic sleeve, EP

DOWN SOUTH / I’VE TURNED GADABOUT promo                          RCA US               47-4568

1953? 2 TRKS no pic sleeve, promo

HOT LIPS / HOTTER THAN A PISTOL                                                 RCA US               47-4875

1952 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

LULU HAD A BABY / BOYS IN THE BACK ROOM, THE                   RCA US               47-5239

1953 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

KIDS THE CLASSICS (EP) (PS)                                                            RCA US               EPA 415

1953 4 TRKS with pic sleeve, EP

CARMEN MURDERED! (EP) (PS)                                                          RCA US               EPA 440

1954 4 TRKS with pic sleeve, EP

MAN ON THE FLYING TRAPEZE (EP) (PS)                                          RCA US               EPA-5080

1959 4 TRK EP; with pic sleeve

WILLIAM TELL OVERTURE / DANCE OF THE HOURS                   RCA US               74-0532

1960? 2 TRKS no pic sleeve, re-issue promo

I don’t run into many of these kind of 45’s, but I do keep a list of them with me – when I go looking at records.  Many of them have non-LP A and / or B sides, hence my interest.  Many of these began their life as 78’s, apparently.

I was given a Spike Jones LP when I was a youth – “Thank You, Music Lovers” on RCA – with snappy Jack Davis cover art; that’s where I first heard the ‘hits’ of the Spike Jones band.  Yes, along with being taught how to tie a tie, my dad turned me onto Spike Jones.

Yes, I am interested in Mr. Jones’ works on other labels (Verve, Liberty etc) – but the RCA 45’s occupy a special place of interest for me.  No, I am not chasing the 78’s – no way to play 78’s – at this time.

I also have lots of RCA ‘collection’ LP’s, that collect many of his non-LP sides, most notably 3 x 2LP sets from RCA Germany.

Spike Jones went to my high school – many years before I got there, of course.

This entry was posted in Comedy, Record Collecting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

