Time Machine 1971 #2 (Strange Days)

4-25-11

Time Machine 1971 #2 (Strange Days)

I will be writing a lot about 1971 this year, as it’s the 40th anniversary of 1971.  “Strange Days” magazine in Japan also writes a “Time Machine” column, and that’s what today’s list is based upon.  Strange Days is varying it’s lists a bit – last year, it only seemed to bother with UK original releases, and this year – it seems to include some US issues!

The April 2011 issue of “Strange Days” lists March 1971 album releases as:  Barclay James Harvest – “Once Again” (Harvest UK LP SHVL 768), Flying Circus “Prepared In Peace” (Harvest UK LP SHSP 4010), Soft Machine – “4” (CBS UK LP S 64280), Miles Davis – “Tribute To Jack Johnson” (Columbia US LP KC 30455), John Cale & Terry Riley – “Church Of Anthrax” (Columbia US LP C30131), David Crosby – “If I Could Only Remember My Name” (Atlantic US LP SD 7203), Crazy Horse – “Crazy Horse” (Reprise US LP RS 6438), Cactus – “One Way Or Another” (Atco US LP SD 33-356), and Three Dog Night – “Golden Biscuits” (Dunhill US LP DSX 50098).

Never was much of a fan of Barclay James Harvest – the only aspects of them that ever really interested me was that a) they were on Harvest UK and b) they worked with Robert John Godfrey who eventually formed The Enid.  Never heard (or saw) the Flying Circus album – anybody out there know anything about ‘em?  Soft Machine #4 is where I started to lose interest – “Third” had been part jazz, part trock – but #4 seemed to be a totally jazz oriented album.  I knew who Miles Davis was, but…this album did not cross my path for another 20 years.  John Cale & Terry Riley – not right away, but I did eventually become a big fan of both John Cale and Terry Riley.  I remember when this album came out – did he beat Lou reed to the punchbowl of who got to release the first Velvet Underground solo album?  No, that was Nico!  I had liked Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – but this David Crosby solo album did not interest me now or then.  No real idea quite why – I was not a big Byrds fan, I guess.

In 2011, I like the debut Crazy Horse album a lot Jack Nitzsche!  But at the time, if I didn’t hear a cut on a Warner / Reprise sampler – no way I ever heard this one on FM radio!  I had Cactus on a British Atlantic sampler LP, “the New Age Of Atlantic”, so I heard them – Vanilla Fudge related?  Never owned a Cactus album, folks.  For 35+ years, the only Three Dog Night LP I owned was an German import pressing of “Golden Biscuits” (pictured) – though now I own the first three albums, and generally like ‘em all – especially “It Ain’t Easy” (Have you heard “Out In The Country” recently?).  They were so popular, it was hard to remain interested in them.  I love the contrasting books about TDN – one that’s nothing but drugs (Jimmy Greenspoon) and one that doesn’t mention drugs (the guitar player, whatever his name is / was)…

So, not a release schedule that I am crazy about.  I didn’t really buy any of them when they were first released.  I’ve probably owned the John Cale & Terry Riley LP the longest.

This entry was posted in 1971, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Machine 1971 #2 (Strange Days)

  1. Brian Ware says:

    I’m sure I had “Golden Biscuits” but I don’t think I had the nude cover. I also remember having their live LP which I liked a lot. Three Dog Night have the honor of being my first ever rock concert around 1970-71. They played at Orlando’s wrestling/rodeo rink (ironically called the Sports Stadium), but I remember them being really solid live.

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    The first album I ever bought was TDN’s “Naturally.” Some time in 1973. It wasn’t even a cutout! I really liked “Liar” when it came out and TDN had prominent organ playing, so I liked them. Plus, they were on ABC/Dunhill; the home to my favorite band of this period, Steppenwolf. I was such a latent record geek, I was picking up on label consciousness at the age of 9! Looking back now, TDN’s big weakness is that they were basically a cover band. Chops to perform but not songwriters. They had eclectic taste in material, though. Richard Polodor probably made all of the money that was to be made from the actual records, apart from ABC.

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    I will write a bit more about TDN soon. Odd tale.

    Jim –

    > label consciousness at the age of 9!

    I looked for other albums on Elektra, because of The Doors, probably around age 9 – 10.

    These days, I look for non-hit Dunhill LP’s/45’s whenever they are inexpensive. They licensed some odd stuff, and certainly produced some truly ‘original’ music.

  4. Dana Madore says:

    “Flying Circus” eludes me, too!
    Cactus were most definately Vanilla Fudge-related. They had quite a few good albums in the American hard rock blues vein.

  5. Aaron Curran says:

    The Flying Circus is an Australian act who became pegged as a teen-pop band when their single ‘Hayride’ became a smash hit (’69 or ’70, can’t remember). While I’m sure the hit was welcome at the time, unfortunately this bubblegum-pop success undermined their reputation with older listeners and some fine later records struggled to find an audience, including ‘Prepared in Peace’ which has a nice country-rock/psych-pop feel. I believe they moved to Canada for a few years in the early ’70s.

  6. ronkanefiles says:

    Thanks, Aaron! Definitely a Harvest UK LP release; I had no idea they were the same band as the ‘Australian’ Flying Circus – perhaps I thought they were Canadian?

Leave a Reply

