Time Machine: 1971

4-1-11

Get Ready for the Time Machine of 1971!

As a youngster, I was learning about becoming a record collector from my brother.  One of the things he suggested to me was to get all the release sheets that I could, and the ones I had access to were Phonolog Release Sheets.  At the Wallach’s Music City, they would throw out the old sheet when the new one came in, so I got all the discarded Phonolog release sheets, beginning in April, 1971.

I don’t have every single week, but – as you will see – I have a lot of them.  Also, I will continue to post the “Time Machine” feature from Strange Days magazine in Japan.

Dang, I am getting’ old!  I remember 1971 like it was…yesterday…last week… last… er,…last…  I remember 1971!  And yep, it was 40 years ago.

There is a fairly big part of me that was already decided by 1971.  Generally speaking, the items I will list first are the titles that I bought, or eventually bought.  I will also list some titles that I saw, or that somehow attracted my attention – but maybe didn’t warrant a purchase.  I will also list singles!  All titles and info are coming off of a nice 1971 piece of paper:  Phonolog!

So, from 1971 forward, I pretty much have my chronology straight.  I know what order I heard / saw stuff in.  And I am amazed at how many albums / singles from 1971 that I actually still own (and enjoy!).

If you have anything to add to my ongoing observations of 1971, please do not hesitate to contribute!  Be it chart title or imported record – I want to hear from you!  How do you feel about 1971 in 2011?  Simple nostalgia or harrowing past?  I remember 1971 like…

My dad was who was driving me to record stores in 1971 – I didn’t get my license for another 5 or 6 years.  I was 12 going on 13 – in “junior high school” (now quaintly referred to as “middle school”).  I had been going to L.A. to look for imported records for a few years by that time.  I was still a bit young to go to concerts, however.  Once in “Junior high”, I met a few other people that I could discuss music with – some peers at school, some guys at record stores…even a relative or two.  I was writing to my brother, who was in Germany by 1971.

No more Beatles, no more Jimi Hendrix…1971 was rough on a young music fan!  I couldn’t afford Billboard, and I didn’t know where they sold Circus or Creem locally.  I was 13 years old, and too old (and wrong gender) for 16 Magazine.  I had recently finished with Mad Magazine, and had yet to discover National Lampoon.  I only infrequently read Rolling Stone or Crawdaddy – they didn’t seem to ever talk about the bands that interested me!  And it was so hard to find issues of Melody Maker, Sounds, or the N.M.E. – besides, I was trying to spend what little money I could get on records, not magazines / newspapers!

1971!

This entry was posted in 1971, Listening, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time Machine: 1971

  1. Brian Ware says:

    Hmmm… 1971. I would have been sixteen and was definitely driving. Since I’ve never kept careful records of what I’ve bought, I had to refresh my memory but looking up the big LPs of 1971. I must have been reading Circus and Hit Parader by then, because I’m quite certain that Circus was my introduction to the prog rock “Big Four” – ELP, Yes, King Crimson, and Genesis. I know I heard “Nursery Cryme”, “The Yes Album”, “Tarkus”, and “Islands” pretty much in real time. I would have joined The Record Club Of America by then and got those 12 LPs for just $??? and then bought how ever many more at the regular price (don’t quite remember the exact details).

    I was still a hard rocker, so I know I was all over Alice Cooper’s “Killer”, and “Who’s Next”. Real big on Deep Purple as well. Still lamenting the end of The Beatles, and remember being quite smitten with “Ram”. I see Led Zepplin 4 was a 1971 LP, but don’t remember ever having a copy of that. Did my enthusiasm wane after LZ3? Of course still enjoying CSNY and Neil Young. A pretty good year…

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Well Brian – we’re going to cruise through quite a bit of 1971 on Monday. I found a whole stack of Phonolog release sheets from 1971 – so it will be kind of like the Japanese magazine that does a Time Machine, but…the Phonolog sheets are for the US only – and they list releases of singles!

    For LZ4, I distinctly remember there being confusion about it, as there’s no typography on the exterior cover – if it was missing it’s sticker, you had to pick it up and say outloud, “What’s this?”.

    But yeah – Circus magazine! I wasn’t so into Hit Parader, as it was newsprint! But I was aware of it. Don’t forget Creem, Crawdaddy and, of course, Rolling Stone – which seemed fairly “hippie conservative” in 1971…

    Glad you were there, hopefully we’ll hit on your favorite 1971 releases this year!

  3. Brian Ware says:

    Yikes! I forgot one of the most important records of my life – Jack Bruce’s “Harmony Row” was 1971. Those first three solo albums had such a huge impact on me. 1969’s “Songs For A Tailor” is definitely a top ten desert island essential, but HR is pretty darn close as well.

    I was never real big on Creem or Crawdaddy as it seemed the tone of those two were a bit more grungy/trashy/druggy than my delicate sensibilities preferred. I was a pretty straight laced button down kid, but just loved rock and roll.

  4. Warren Bowman says:

    In 1971, I had not bought any albums yet. The only record outlet in town was the Thrifty Drug Store. I sure bought a lot of singles there, prolly for $0.99 each. Perhaps the most memorable purchase from 1971 was a nice picture sleeve of “American Pie”, complete with a giant hole in the center, as the drug store kept all the 45’s locked in a bin with a steel rod running through them.

    It wasn’t until the next year that I was standing in the Thrifty and heard The Hollies “Long Cool Woman” being played on the radio. After hearing that guitar intro, I resolved then and there to learn to play the guitar someday.

  5. ronkanefiles says:

    Ah, yes – the steel rod through the picture sleeves! I have a few of those, too. I bought my fair share of records at the Thrifty Drug Store in Bixby Knolls; they had cut-outs, and sometimes had very good prices on new albums – I remember buying Rod Stewart “Every Picture Tells A Story” new for something like $2.29 – it would’ve been $3.98 in a hippie record store! FYI, the 45’s at the Singer sewing machine store were only .59 cents!

Leave a Reply

