Sailor

3-30-11

Sailor

Time for a “Glass Of Champagne”!

  1. Sailor (Epic US LP, 1974)
  2. Trouble (Epic UK LP, 1975)
  3. The Third Step (Epic UK LP, 1976)
  4. Check Point (Epic UK LP, 1977)
  5. Hideaway (Epic UK LP, 1978)

Sailor! “Glass Of Champagne” is their biggest hit, and from their 2nd album, “Trouble”.  I found a Japanese CD of “Trouble” a few years back, and it greatly facilitated my interest in Sailor.  I have read them referred to as faux-Roxy Music, but I don’t think that’s quite correct – Sailor are a lot snappier than R.M. ever mustered after their 2nd album!

Whenever something British / English 70’s is relatively clever or reasonably well-produced, I find a comparison to 10cc to be inevitable.  Very interesting to me that someone from Denmark – Mr. Georg Kajanus – could attract the attention of the UK record buying public from ’74 – ’78 without really being considered ‘glam rock’.  Clever it was, and by ’78 I suspect the law of diminishing averages was taking effect, and Epic UK would have it no more.

Sailor are also one of those band that seems to have had greater success in Europe, particularly Germany – than in their ‘mostly native’ England.  In the 70’s & 80’s, the Germans did go for the clever UK stuff.  And Kajanus being fluent in English, but not quite “British” must’ve appealed to the Germans.

So, I’m definitely not the expert – but I did manage to find all five of their original contiguous albums!  I have read about an ’81 album unfortunately called “Dressed For Drowning” on the ill-fated Caribou label – but I know little else about it, other than it’s entry into “Rock Record” – which recorded it’s release in the UK.

I guess a version of the band exists in 2011.  Mr. Kajanus is elsewhere, as of a while ago. I wish them all success with whatever they try.  I don’t think they ever came to the US to play live; I certainly don’t remember them walking down the pike.

What can I say? They don’t make ‘em like this anymore!

This entry was posted in 1974, Listening, Record Collecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sailor

  1. Tom Meyer says:

    I was just listening to Sailor the other day! Seeing them on TOTP, I particularly remember the “Nickelodeon” instrument that Kajanus crafted out of two back-to-back pianos and sundry other bits and bobs. Sorry to say that “Glass of Champagne” was the only song on the Greatest Hits that I was able to sit through to fadeout. I’ll give it another go…right after I give Pilot a spin.

  2. postpunkmonk says:

    I come to Mr. Kajanus by his production of Peter Godwin. I’ve read about Sailor and I’ve only recently heard his subsequent project Data [who were incredible] so methinks that I should make the effort. I think I’d probably be amenable to this work!

  3. ronkanefiles says:

    Pilot! Sailor! But – wasn’t “Aviator” an American band? And Sailor did…er, ‘dress as sailors’. Did Pilot dress as pilots? Oh oh oh it’s magic!

    Tom: The “Trouble” album by Sailor is a lot easier to swallow than their “Greatest Hits”, I think.

    Jim: Kajanus produced Peter Godwin?

Leave a Reply

