PCC Swap Meet (on 3-6-11)

3-8-11

PCC Swap Meet (on 3-6-11)

Last Sunday, we returned to the Pasadena City College swap meet, after a long absence.  Ever since they moved the ‘record collector’ part of the show up into the parking structure, it hasn’t been the same.  Still with a bit of persistence, I found some oddball vinyl stuff last Sunday – alas, no 7” singles!

HISEMAN, JOHN A NIGHT IN THE SUN, KUCKUCK DE LP ’82 solo album by the drummer of Colosseum and Tempest; recorded in Brazil, $6

LOVE AND MONEY STRANGE KIND OF LOVE, FONTANA UK LP British pressing, gatefold cover, never seen a copy before!  Weird letter from the ‘radio promo’ label folks to “Hip FM DJ’s” included – imagine sending an LP to a radio station in 1988!, $6

MENTAL AS ANYTHING BRAIN BRAIN, A&M US 12″ promo-only 12” single in a plain black sleeve; Long version / short version, $2

MENTAL AS ANYTHING IF YOU LEAVE ME CAN I COME TOO?, A&M US 12″ promo-only 12” single in a plain black sleeve, $2

MERCURY, ERIC s/t, MERCURY US LP promo ’75 amazing R&B LP (I am only missing one Eric Mercury LP now), and this is still not on CD in 2011, $4

PROPAGANDA DR. MABUSE, ZTT UK 12″ W/PS (12 ZTAS 2) I never saw a copy of this before, only ever the Japanese version (Polystar JPN 13SI-238) $6

YELLO I LOVE YOU, ELEKTRA US 12″ promo-only 12” single, cover rubber stamped “Special AOR Mix” – 3 tracks, $2

I was told (by 2 different people, no less) that the records I was looking through belonged to a single individual, one of whom was designated “a reviewer”.

Also found a few cheap CD’s:

ABDELLI AMONG BROTHERS, REALWORLD US CD, $2

GILMOUR, DAVID ABOUT FACE, COLUMBIA US CD re-mastered, sealed, $5

GILMOUR, DAVID s/t, COLUMBIA US CD re-mastered, sealed, $5

LOTTKE, LEO CHEWING PINE, BGO UK CD ’75 album, $3

V.A. SUMMER OF LOVE Vol. 1, RHINO US CD, ’92 CD of late 60’s hits, $2

I have to be honest, I don’t buy many CD’s at swap meets.  But I am a sucker for inexpensive Realworld label CD; the Gilmour titles got re-mastered when all the Pink Floyd titles got re-mastered, I guess – and I do like those albums.  I got the Leo Kottke for it’s Procol Harum cover version.  And the Rhino compilation CD is a nice effort, with some off stuff on it – there are maybe 6 tracks here that I did not already own on CD.

So, last Sunday was a good day for my record collector persona.  I literally do not know where I could’ve found any of this stuff in a store, much less for the prices paid (in cash) at the swap meet.  Makes me want to go to more swap meets!

This entry was posted in 12" Records, List, Record Collecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PCC Swap Meet (on 3-6-11)

  1. Brian Ware says:

    Kellan and I have marked our calendars for the twice yearly Orlando swap meet coming up on the 27th. He’s been saving his money. Last fall was his first meet and we had a ball. I was pleasantly surprised as well so I’ll send a report.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Can’t wait to see both of your lists! I see some young people at the Claremont swap meet, but the one I went to last Sunday is a big outdoor one that mostly sells ‘junk’ – there’s a small area that’s just record collectors.

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    I have the Yello and Propaganda singles. On “Mabuse” which sleeve/pressing variant is it? White, Black, or generic ZTT? I have all three. Mixes can differ wildly. Sticker? What I don’t have is the JPN “Mabuse,” except on a Polystar CD3 – now worth a small fortune.

Leave a Reply

