Mother Goose

2-15-11

Mother Goose

New Zealand art rockers!

LP DON’T BELIEVE IN FAIRYTALES                                              MUSHROOM AUS   L 37147

1979 9 TRKS

7″ I THINK IT’S YOU / OL’ BLUE                                                     MUSHROOM AUS   K 7126

1978 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

7″ MARGUERITTA AND ME / FLY BY NIGHT                               PAROLE NZ             K 8652

1982 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

7″ MOONSHINE LADY / SOMEBODY BROKE MY HEART        MUSHROOM NZ     K 6950

1977 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

7″ SAVING FOR A RAINY DAY / ALL THE KING’S HORSES     MUSHROOM NZ     K 7977

1979 2 TRKS no pic sleeve

CD STUFFED                                                                                      MUSHROOM AUS   D 19981

1977 9 TRKS

LP STUFFED                                                                                      MUSHROOM AUS   L 36312

1977 9 TRKS original issue

LP THIS IS THE LIFE                                                                         PAROLE AUS          L 37775

1982 10 TRKS

For my money, Mother Goose were the best Split Enz-influenced band to follow them out of New Zealand.  Mother Goose appear to

I started going to New Zealand in 1980 / 1981 – I had seen Split Enz in 1977, Mi-Sex in 1980 and was no stranger to what was going on ‘down there’.  I believe I had their debut album, “Stuffed” before I ever went to NZ.  Already being familiar with Split Enz’s masterpiece “Mental Notes”, I couldn’t help but feel that “Stuffed” had been influenced by “Mental Notes” – and, like Split Enz, the band Mother Goose appeared to dress-up a bit.  So, art rock, dress-up, New Zealand – Split Enz and Mother Goose seemed to have a lot in common.

Including both bands initially going to Australia from their homes in NZ.  Many NZ bands went to NZ, but not so many succeeded, in the 70’s.

On one of my first trips to NZ, people would often ask me what other NZ music I was familiar with – after I had finished rhapsodizing about Split Enz.  Whenever I mentioned Mother Goose, people would always say – “Have you seen the video for “Baked Beans” – it’s wonderful!”.  Mmm…no, I haven’t seen the video for “Baked Beans”, but I do have that track on vinyl…

If the last new Mother Goose piece I got was in 1982, and the only thing added to my collection was the CD issue of “Stuffed” – I haven’t thought about Mother Goose in a good many years.

So, if you like the Phil Judd version of Split Enz, it might be worth checking out Mother Goose, kiwi fans!

This entry was posted in Listening, New Zealand, Progressive Rock, Record Collecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother Goose

  1. Brian Ware says:

    Well, I couldn’t resist checking for “Baked Beans” on that online video archive site that we don’t mention. Yes, it’s there and it’s pretty amusing.

  2. Ron Kane says:

    If you’d like to hear the debut Mother Goose album, let me know, Brian.

Leave a Reply

