Multi-channel Madness! Pt. 2

1-25-11

Multi-channel Madness! Pt. 2

Yesterday, it was SA-CD multi-channel amusement – today’s it’s DVD-Audio multi-channel fun!

COLOSSEUM BEST OF, SILVERLINE US

CROWDED HOUSE CROWDED HOUSE, CAPITOL US

DAMNED, THE LIVE ANTHOLOGY, SILVERLINE US

ENTWISTLE, JOHN LIVE, SILVERLINE US

FIRESIGN THEATRE BOOM DOT BUST, RHINO US

MOTORHEAD ACE OF SPADES, SILVERLINE US

MOTORHEAD DEAF FOREVER, SILVERLINE US collection

NUMAN, GARY ANTHOLOGY, SILVERLINE US

SIMPLE MINDS NEW GOLD DREAM, VIRGIN US

ZAPPA, FRANK HALLOWEEN, BARKING PUM US Live

ZAPPA, FRANK QUAUDIOPHILIAC, BARKING PUM US – amazing!

In addition to these titles, I also have the “Love” CD + DVD Audio by The Beatles, which is what I tried first, after setting up the Sony DAV-DZ170.  Overall good sound; too bad they don’t think they can sell 5.1 audio of some of the latter-day Beatles’ albums.

I also have 5 of the King Crimson CD + DVD Audio 40th anniversary re-master sets; all have 5.1 mixes of some of the best King Crimson albums – I wonder how soon “Larks’ Tongues In Aspic” will come out on 5.1 DVD-Audio?

So, I did a bit of poking around, to see if I could find any lists of desirable DVD-Audio titles – looks like when these things go out of print, the price goes way up!  Where’s my Yes “Fragile” DVD-A?  Or Alice Cooper “Billion Dollar Babies”?  Even the Donald Fagen DVD-Audio titles have a good rep!

And I guess if I have a DVD-A of Simple Minds “New Gold Dream” – then I don’t need the multi-channel SA-CD of it?

Oh, no!  I have tons of music DVD’s!  I wonder how many of those have 5.1 audio on ‘em?  This could get complicated!

This entry was posted in DVD-Audio, Record Collecting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Multi-channel Madness! Pt. 2

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    The DVD-A of “New Gold Dream” is a 5.1 remix of the original album [except for 2 cuts where the multitracks were lost]. The SA-CD is the original Pete Walsh production in 24/96. So the content is different. I’d get them both. I only have the remix DVD-A. Thankfully, there’s a PCM version of the new mix since I don’t have 5.1 audio playback capability.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Despite there being 3 x SM SA-CD’s, I’ve never seen one for sale. None of the Virgin UK SA-CD’s are common here, for some reason. I’d buy any in a heartbeat, provided they weren’t too ‘spensive.

  3. postpunkmonk says:

    The Best of SM would be a great way to hear the classic material in 24/96! But you’re right. I never see them for sale… usually. I did find the NGD DVD-A at the D.C. Tower [rip] on my last trip there in 2006. They might have had the “Once Upon A Time” DVD-A there as well, but I can’t go there. It’s mediocre enough on CD.

  4. ronkanefiles says:

    Would love to find the “Best Of” as a DVD-A or SA-CD!

    DVD-A titles seem to have almost vanished here.

    Ever see / seen?

    THE BAND – Last Waltz
    GEORGE BENSON – Breezin’
    DAVID BOWIE – David Live
    ERIC CLAPTON – There’s One In Every Crowd
    B.J. COLE – Trouble In Paradise
    ALICE COOPER – Billion Dollar Babies
    DEEP PURPLE – Machine Head
    DONOVAN – Fairytale
    THE DOORS – L.A. Woman
    DONALD FAGAN – Nightfly
    THE FIXX – 1011 Woodland
    PORCUPINE TREE – Stupid Dreams
    QUEEN – A Night At The Opera
    QUEEN – The Game
    TOY MATINEE – Toy Matinee
    YES – Fragile
    NEIL YOUNG – Harvest
    NEIL YOUNG – On The Beach
    NEIL YOUNG – Greendale

    RK

  5. postpunkmonk says:

    I also have the DVD-A of “Boom Dot Bust” but I can only listen to the PCM stereo version on my DVD player. All of the video extras are incompatible with a DVD player, which doesn’t make much sense to me! Since it’s tied to my living room, I’ve only listened to this album maybe twice.

Leave a Reply

