Record Collector Nostalgia #3

12-3-10

Record Collector Nostalgia #3

Crap, do I ever have a lot of stuff!  I have previously described the vinyl frenzy that occurred upon discovering that I no longer owned a copy of “Home” by Procol Harum on LP (with it’s snappy interior cover or imported insert page).  There have been a few places that just give it away – and I therefore bought tons of oddball LP’s from Canterbury Records in Pasadena, where 50 cents was not an unusual price-point.  And there’s the swap meets, too – land of the $1 records.

I once bid on 5 sets of UK 45’s on eBay; I got 4 of the 5 sets – didn’t get the last batch with all the 45’s by The Who on Brunswick.  It cost some cash, but…eventually I added 100+ UK 60’s 45’s to my collection – glorious!

But how many wrong trees did I bark up?  What did I ever start to collect – only to realize that there way too much of this?  Or it’s all too expensive these days?  Or that you will never see any more of it – certainly not at these prices?  Oh, my!  I need to get rid of more crap – go back to my eternal cogitating about “My Perfect Collection” – whittle it all down to about 800 titles.  Delirium!  Can’t do it!

5 decades of hoarding this stuff! The advantage these days is that I am familiar with most of what I buy.  OK, so I didn’t know the exact Miles Davis stuff I bought recently, but – Live in 1965 sounds pretty sharp, doesn’t it?  Will I ever have more CD’s than I do LP’s?  If all the CD’s were $3, it just might happen!

Here’s some tender young person record collector nostalgia:  I remember when my entire record collection would fit into 9 milk crates; 3 rows of 3 each – this was about 1974, and my prized possession was the clear copy of the debut album by Faust.  There’s a wonderful snarky photo of me holding it, standing in front of my tiny collection – which I thought was so damned big.  My “To be played” pile is now bigger than my whole collection was in 1974!

And that’s about how long it takes for me to get around to some stuff, apparently.  I recently (last year or two) opened and played my copy of Bob Dylan & The Band “The Basement Tapes”, which had been in my “To Be Played” pile since…1975.  It took over 30 years for me to listen to that album (during which time I drank considerably more than I do now, drat!).  Odds and Ends…lost time is not found again!

I absolutely love talking to record collectors that are older than I am.  I love hearing Jerry Lee Lewis referred to with such reverence; Mose Allison being the benchmark for when things really changed; one friend recently confided he had seen both Elvis Presley and Elvis Costello (about 25+ years apart, I might add).  I think using music as a metaphor for our passage through life works.  We merely enter the dance at different places.  Things may come and things may go, but the Art School dance goes on foreverPete Brown.  And he’s right.

Quit reading this junk and go play a record that you have been meaning to get to.

This entry was posted in Record Collecting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Record Collector Nostalgia #3

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Well, I certainly didn’t waste any time on the Philip Jap 7″ you sent me. I did something I have never done before. I recorded the record through my audio interface: 44.1/24 bit. And then I burned it to a CD-R without doing ANY maintenance/de-noising to the file. In other words, I used a computer like a cassette deck.

    This was a first. Normally, I spend as little as 15 minutes on the good end or up to 4-5 hours on the tough end removing noise manually from a track, using all of the techniques at my disposal. It’s painstaking work that I do to the best of my ability. At the end of a year, I usually have about 10-12 CDs to show for my efforts, with meticulously designed packaging, etc. Maybe this is not always the way to go.

    My slush pile gets huge over the years. I spend hundreds of dollars a year on records that it sometimes takes me a decade to work up to digitizing. I’ve been thinking that I need to digitize everything as fast as I can upon buying it and dump the rough files to CD-R so I can at least hear this stuff in a reasonably timely fashion – i.e. less than a decade later.

    The only snag I see with this paradigm is that I may never get around to really cleaning up a title with all of the homegrown label polish I’ve come to enjoy [and expect]. But does that really matter?

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    > But does that really matter?
    Yes and No, of course!

    These days I do try and listen to most everything when I get it, unless I get too much. My desire is for it to register in my mental Rolodex. Maybe later, I will have a magical listening time where I can play all my wonderful stuff, actually having time to listen and enjoy it.

    Glad you liked the Philip Jap 45. I first found it when it was a new release. Wouldn’t mind hearing his whole LP.

Leave a Reply

